Vbox - Native Support in Emby

ciarantwomey

ciarantwomey

Hi there

I'm new to emby. I took out a premiere account to use the live tv function with my vbox (xti 3340)

In the article below it notes that emby has native support for vbox but when setting up I dont see it as an option only - hdhomerun, m3u etc

Can setup through m3u but this isnt great - why isnt vbox an option like noted in the guide below?

Thanks in advance

https://support.emby.media/support/solutions/articles/44002060569-vbox-tv-gateway-tuner

Spaceboy

I’d guess because it’s only beta at present and you have installed the stable branch

ciarantwomey

Th

6 minutes ago, Spaceboy said:

I’d guess because it’s only beta at present and you have installed the stable branch

thanks for the prompt reply - yes I downloaded a stable version. So I presume I need to uninstall and then download a beta version. (Setting up via windows and will stream/ watch live tv on fire tv) any particular beta version ?

this may sound stupid (novice here) when accessing my vbox on the emby app on the fire tv does my emby server have to be on ? Ie do I alway need to have my pc on? 

thanks fir your help

pwhodges
12 minutes ago, ciarantwomey said:

So I presume I need to uninstall and then download a beta version. (Setting up via windows and will stream/ watch live tv on fire tv) any particular beta version ?

The current beta is very near release, so I suggest simply downloading it and using it, and updating to stable when the release is finalised.

Download the version you need from here:
https://github.com/MediaBrowser/Emby.Releases/releases
Then (with the server not running) replace the "system" directory with that you have downloaded - no need to uninstall first.  You can find the location of the Emby-Server directory at the bottom of the server dashboard - the system directory is in it.

13 minutes ago, ciarantwomey said: