Convert function - are subtitles supposed to be copied to the final file?

Rene44vie

Rene44vie

I'm new to Emby, and would like to shrink my video collection using the Emby convert function with hardware support (VAAPI). I found a posting here which states that there are no options for subtitles at the moment. But does this mean subtitles are skiped, or should they be copies without conversion.

I tried with a MPEG2 file with dvd_subtitle and the final file was hevc and aac (as expected), but without subtitles. The transcoding log file shows also the subtitle streams, but the mapping in the log only shows video and audio.

Did I miss something essential?

Edited by Rene44vie

Hello Rene44vie,

Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you.

It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread:

Thank you.

Emby Team

On 2/27/2021 at 7:17 PM, Rene44vie said:

Did I miss something essential?

No you didn't miss anything.  This has been asked for so maybe in the future in will be added.

Currently the conversion follows the subtitle user preferences of the user who initiated it.

1 hour ago, Luke said:

Currently the conversion follows the subtitle user preferences of the user who initiated it.

I never knew this, learned something new today.

Any reason why this can't get moved to the convert function itself?  For example, my playback settings are quite different then my convert functionality is.

Rene44vie
4 hours ago, Luke said:

Thanky for the insight! Can you please enlighten me what that does exactly mean? I've tried different settings for preferred subtitle language [any language, German] and subtitle mode [standard, alwasy show subtitles] (hope that are the correct original english names), but after the conversion process there are no subtitles there.

Are there other settings? Or is there a way to alter a configuration file/script to always force subtitles?