Advice from Synology users

kaledi

I've been using a Western Digital PR4100 for several years now and it has been great, but I need to scale to more storage space.

I'm looking at a Synology DS1821+ 8 bay device.  I have a few questions that I'm hoping Synology users can help with.

The main use of the device is an Emby server and backup / storage device.  Transcoding isn't a priority.   The main performance limitation of the PR4100 is the gigabit lan that means large files take some time to transfer so a new NAS will need to be capable of 10gbit.

1. The DS1821+ comes with 4GB of RAM - is this sufficient for Emby and simple file transfers.

2. An SSD can be used to cache file transfers.  With a 10 gigabit lan, I'm guessing this can make a difference for multi gigabyte file transfers?

3. Anything else I should know about Synology NAS being used as an Emby server?

I've got the 1815+ I understand there is a fair few differences between the 2015 model and the new 2021 model.  My experience with my 1815+ is great, I have had some issues with transcoding of late, but that is mainly due to new recent codecs, which is hardly surprising when it comes to hardware that is 6 years old.

I know with the 1815+ you can use link aggregation to create a 4gbps bond, which you will need a switch/router that supports it of course. It's easy to setup, however when I changed my router last year I had to disable my LACP as my router didn't support it, but for my needs having the LACP didn't make a difference, so have now just gone with a little D-link 5 port hub rather than the 24port rack mountable beast I had before.

Regarding RAM I upped mine from day one to 6gb so can't comment, but reports I have seen say 4gb will be more than fine.