Emby server plugin development tutorial on youtube

chef

My ability to create youtube videos has much to be desired. Putting my terrible video production abilities aside, I am putting together some tutorials on how to setup a development environment to create plugins for emby, on youtube.

This is video 1.

Like I say, I'm not very good at video creation, but since the world still doesn't seem to need to employ chefs full time, this seemed like a fun time to try it out. 😬

• Like 13
  • Thanks 2

• 1 month later...
chef
8 hours ago, SirBen said:

This is great!!!

Thank you chef

Thanks 😂 Should I make more? 😆

Edited by chef

• 10 months later...
ginjaninja
On 24/03/2021 at 03:48, chef said:

Hi @chefthanks for videos, i am trying to learn c# and move from scripting against api to be able to actually write a plugin, its a steep learning curve. Something that would help myself and perhaps others who can follow a programming language logic once they understand the syntax, would be a run through of a plugin, explaining the c# language structures in play, so they can go away and learn more about them before trying to understand in more detail. I think these videos are at a bit later stage than i am at.

as someone unfamiliar with c# but who feels quite confident following logic, i am disheartened by how incomprehensible a plugin on github is...if there was a video signposting the c# language structure/concepts involved in a simple plugin, then i think that would help me learn more and get started. eg This is a interface, this is a lamda expression, this section defines this for the purpose of that, the developer uses 'programming concept x' here because reason.

I appreciate i may not have enough experience to be the target audience for the type of content you are producing. and i dont under estimate the effort. but you did ask if more videos would be appreciated. (And even if my thoughts above miss the mark, any more videos will certainly be gratefully received)