Synology questions before buying

David Patt

David Patt

Hello,

Fair warning, this will be long and some stupid questions may appear as I am total newbie in all of this.

So I find about Emby like two weeks ago. And I totally love it so I setup portable windows server. I fidlle with it and I like it so I decide take all my media collection to Emby. I use 2 external HDD as my source of media for Emby. 

I watch like 90% of media on my Android TV. So I ask myself why to have PC turned on. I find about NAS and Synology looks like best solution for having server active 24/7.

I look for it in my local PC shop and find DS920+. It is little expensive (around 700 usd) . But it can run 24/7, so my family can connect whenever they want and watch.

Questions :

1, migration server from windows , I hope I can make it done. I try Synology demo at their website , install Emby server but can't connect to it.

2, DS920+ has two USB ports. Can I connect my external HDDs and use them as my media source ?

3, Is Synology server good as windows counterpart ?

4, How many 4k streams can be achieved ?

5, Do you recommend this solution (pricey but convinient) or should I stay at windows version and be dependeble when my PC is running ?

Thanks you for reading such long post and for suggestions and answers.

@FrostByte

@Abobader

@bobaldis

Hi, yes the Synology is a great option. @FrostByte how many 4K streams can yours handle?

Do you recommend this solution (pricey but convinient)

Yes I do, especially the new DS920+ which looks fantastic.

DS920+ has two USB ports. Can I connect my external HDDs and use them as my media source ?

Yes you can.

1, migration server from windows , I hope I can make it done. I try Synology demo at their website , install Emby server but can't connect to it.

Hi, yes you can. We have a backup guide in our knowledge base:

https://support.emby.media/support/solutions/articles/44001159936-backup

Please let us know if this helps. Thanks !

FrostByte