Nvidia Hardware Accelleration not working?

chris_martin

chris_martin

hi guys i 've noticed my hardware encoding doesn't appear to be working. i've looked through the forums and cannot see anything that relates to me although i am a bit of a noob..... i have a gtx1080 with nvenc cores unlocked.. hardware encoding is enabled on my server but it doesn't ever seem to use it. i've attached an ffmpeg log for you guys to read over. let me know if you need any other info.....( i dont use windows remote desktop)....i've tried various combinations of settings with no luck.

ffmpeg-remux-b520bc51-3509-4e3b-a07b-d84ac8a30ca5_1.txt

2.txt

Hi, there's nothing wrong in this log. There is no video encoding happening.

chris_martin

shouldn't it be working tho? i've not seen it work once.... seems like a pointless feature for such high end equipment. im unable to use quick sync on my intel chip due to G-Sync being enabled on my display. this is a little disappointing... plex has one up on you guys in that department. im still never going back lol don't worry.... but still..... i should work just as well as theirs.... my cpu is getting raped with all the transcoding. hopefully you guys will get on top of it soon as this is quite disapointing. thankyou anyway.. i'll en-devour..... your service is still way better than plex... just the hardware thing is a bummer for me....

shouldn't it be working tho? i've not seen it work once.

It is working just fine, in this example at least. It's not necessary to transcode the video so it's copying the original stream as-is. Why do you think something is wrong?

chris_martin