Linux noob help with setting up NAS access

mark-in-dallas

mark-in-dallas

I'm not completely new to Linux and have been running Centos servers with WHM for web servers for years and am fairly comfortable working in SSH, but I am a brand spanking noob when it come to Linux for desktops.

I've looked through all of the threads in the Emby Linux forum, as well as the linuxmint forums and a couple of others, but I am still at a loss.

I've just installed Linux Mint 19.3 and have spent days trying  to figure out how to record to a NAS drive.  I am able to access all media stored on the NAS (WD DL2100) in Emby, but have tried everything I could find to get Emby to record to the NAS, without success.

The recording folder is located at:  192.168.1.9/mnt/HD/HD_2/tv  I do have that directory set with anonymous read/write access (777).

If I use smb://192.168.1.9/tv as the recording path, Emby does see all media in the folder, but will not record to it.

I have also tried using nfs://192.168.1.9/nfs/tv, which did not work and all my recording disappeared from the recording tab.

I tried //192.168.1.9/tv and got the same results as with nfs

I have Samba and Gigolo installed, and have edited my fstab to include:  //192.168.1.9/mnt/HD/HD_a2/tv cifs username=username,password=password,iocharset=utf8,uid=emby,gid=emby,file_mode=0770,dir_mode=0770,vers=3.0,_netdev,nofail    with a username and password that does have access to the NAS, although the shares are set for anonymous access anyway.

If I open Nemo and click on Networks it does see the NAS, but when clicking on it I get an error message indicating:  Unable to mount location .  Could not connect to NAS.local connection refused

But, I can access the NAS by using the connect to server function in Nemo and creating a new connection..