mpv.conf - having issue configuring scaling

Chest Rockwell

Chest Rockwell

Guys (esp. Doofus),

I am trying to configure ET for better upscaling.   However, I have run into an issue.  In particular, it does not appear that MPV is using the scaling options I am setting in mpv.conf.

I know my mpv.conf file is being read because I have it generating log files. In addition, as a test case, when I set “video-unscaled=yes,” the image is not scaled and, as expected, there are black bars surrounding the picture.  I am attempting to upscale 480i video material to 1080.  My computer has an i7 four core Kaby Lake and an nVidia GTX 1080 video card.  In Emby Theater I turned hardware acceleration to “none” to avoid problems.

Whether I set “scale=” to low fidelity algorithms like “nn,” “oversample,” “bilinear,” or whether I set it to “ewa_lancozsharp,” the scaled picture looks the same on my 1080p monitor, and I have some experience comparing scaler outputs.  In addition, my CPU/GPU usage is exactly the same at 5%/32% no matter what scaling I specify. I also tried, “profile=gpu-hq” with the same results.  I have deinterlacing set to "yes" in ET, so whatever is default is being used.

My mpv.conf is simple:

Log-file=”C:\mpv logs\Theater mpv log.txt”

msg-level=v

gpu=vo

hwdec=no

scale=[one of: nn, oversample, bilinear, ewa_lanczossharp]

I have looked at the log file and, unless I am missing something, it does not seem to indicate which scaling algorithm is being used.   Is there a way to confirm which scaling algorithm is being implemented by MPV at run time?  I have attached a log file that was generated when I had "scale=oversample".

Theater mpv log.txt

Guest asrequested

You're trying to use a hardware scaler with no hardware acceleration. Just enable 'auto' in Theater for hardware acceleration, and use this in your mpv.conf. The extra stuff will help clean up artifacts.

Log-file="C:\mpv logs\Theater mpv log.txt"
msg-level=v

hwdec-codecs=all
opengl-pbo