Emby For Kodi Can't Pause or Record

Pain

Hi All

I am using Kodi 15.5 with Emby for Kodi addon and the embuary theme. Love it!

My Emby server is on a Synology. I have HDhomerun setup and working with Emby. Works fine when using the Emby app on Nvidia Shield.

My question is why can't I pause live TV with Emby for Kodi? I just started using Kodi so I am still learning...

Thanks for any help!

hoppel118

Hi All

I am using Kodi 15.5 with Emby for Kodi addon and the embuary theme. Love it!

Kodi 15.5 or the latest stable 18.5? :)

Probably because it's a forward moving stream and there's nowhere to put the pause buffer. It would likely have to be changed to play in a different way.

Probably because it's a forward moving stream and there's nowhere to put the pause buffer. It would likely have to be changed to play in a different way.

@@Luke I noticed today when watching TV thru Emby for Kodi that the program is not streaming from Emby and strait from the HDhomerun. How do I fix that? Thank you

I suggest you to use the Kodi PVR client -> https://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:HDHomeRun_PVR

Only by using a native client integration you will get the complete PVR support.

The addon is only passing the stream as workaround for the currently not existing Emby PVR client.

Thats what I am using. Is there a setup for it? All I did was install it on kodi.

sualfred

Then it's not Emby related at all. It's a connection between Kodi and your HD Homerun device. AFAIK there is no record/pause function implemented. 

If you want pause + record -> TVHeadend and use the HDHomerun device as "sat>ip" tuner. With such an setup you can use the TVH Kodi client and TVH is doing the rest (recording, recording timers, timeshift, pause, etc, etc, etc). Google has the answers how to do it. The HDHomerun devices are not very common here in Germany. I'm using real PCI-e DVB-C Tuners + TVHeaded.