Jump to content


Photo

Emby sticks @ server selection

Emby Roku Stuck Sticks

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 05 December 2019 - 07:03 PM

Everytime I try to select a server it disconnects and sticks at the spinning circle. I checked for updates, says it's up to date.

#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 148996 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 06 December 2019 - 12:32 AM

Hi there, what exactly do you mean by "it disconnects" ?



#3 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 06 December 2019 - 06:10 AM

When connected it displays the time and either my username or email address in the upper right corner. When I initially start it up it displayed them just fine. So I select a server and it displays neither as the circle just spins. I've waited for up to 5 minutes and nothing happens.

#4 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 49893 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 06 December 2019 - 11:20 AM

Hi.  Is the server you are selecting running and available on the network?  Are you able to back out of the spinning circle and select a different server?

 

Have you tried connecting to the server manually by entering the address?



#5 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 06 December 2019 - 07:46 PM

I can connect to everything perfectly fine using my Samsung Emby app. I will try though.

#6 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 49893 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 07 December 2019 - 02:00 PM

I'm thinking that it is possible that the address of the server changed since it was saved in the app.  The answers to my questions will help determine that.

 

Thanks.



#7 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 08 December 2019 - 03:28 PM

Valid concern. If that was the case why would only the roku app stick and not the Samsung SmartHub app stick. Both connect to the same server.

#8 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 49893 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 08 December 2019 - 04:56 PM

Valid concern. If that was the case why would only the roku app stick and not the Samsung SmartHub app stick. Both connect to the same server.

 

Because each app caches the server information.



#9 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 08 December 2019 - 06:38 PM

I was invited to the server. Where can I find the info so I can try to connect manually?

#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 148996 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 08 December 2019 - 09:03 PM

I was invited to the server. Where can I find the info so I can try to connect manually?

 

@Aknight2015 you'd have to request this information from whoever invited you.



#11 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 10 December 2019 - 11:24 PM

Tried it, same result.

#12 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 148996 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 10 December 2019 - 11:26 PM

Tried it, same result.

 

Hi, tried, what exactly? Did you talk to the administrator of the emby server that you're trying to connect to?



#13 Aknight2015 OFFLINE  

Aknight2015

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 12 December 2019 - 02:20 PM

Look. The issue is not the server. I could connect just fine using the Samsung SmartTV Emby app, as well as the Android Emby app. The ONLY app that won't connect is the Roku app.

#14 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 49893 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 12 December 2019 - 02:32 PM

Did you hit the "Add Server" button in the Roku app?



#15 lala7625 OFFLINE  

lala7625

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Local time: 02:24 PM

Posted 18 December 2019 - 08:06 PM

I am having the exact same issue. When trying to connect to the saved server info via EmbyConnect, I can choose my username and the next screen is just a spinning circle and never changes.

 

If I add the server manually, I get to a Welcome to Emby screen with my username in the top right and Emby and Home in the top left.

 

I can connect to Emby everywhere else perfectly, just not the Roku app.

 

Roku is up to date. I even removed the Emby channel and re-added and am getting the same results.



#16 Lyfesaver OFFLINE  

Lyfesaver

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 255 posts
  • Local time: 02:24 PM

Posted 18 December 2019 - 08:06 PM

Same issue. Everywhere but Roku is good to go



#17 Lyfesaver OFFLINE  

Lyfesaver

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 255 posts
  • Local time: 02:24 PM

Posted 18 December 2019 - 08:07 PM

Just be be clear, lala's report and mine are the same. did not know they were posting



#18 speechles OFFLINE  

speechles

    Advanced Member

  • App Developer
  • 5891 posts
  • Local time: 12:24 PM

Posted 18 December 2019 - 08:24 PM

We have some updates to that section (login,authentication,etc) of the app to address some issues where things would hang. This work done already may solve the problem. We are working on this and the very next Roku Beta will have improvements to this area that you can confirm fixes the issue or not.

 

We will compare our present Beta against Emby Connect to make sure these changes solve the problem. I am sure they do but you never know. Nobody is perfect.

 

If any problems appear with Emby Connect I personally will come back here and make mention of it. This issue may already be solved but I will run back through this again and try to find anywhere it breaks to double down my confidence. Please bear with us and stay tuned. This is a priority. It will be resolved. Thanks for choosing Emby. :)


Edited by speechles, 18 December 2019 - 08:26 PM.


#19 les ismore OFFLINE  

les ismore

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Local time: 12:24 PM

Posted 19 January 2020 - 07:36 AM

Emby has worked fine for me for the last few months. But starting about at New Year's, I'm getting ditto results as these posts with my free Emby beta. "The spinning wheel's, got to go 'round" :wacko: I'll just keep checking back for resolutions. Thanx.



#20 ebr ONLINE  

ebr

    Chief Bottle Washer

  • Administrators
  • 49893 posts
  • Local time: 03:24 PM

Posted 19 January 2020 - 12:03 PM

Emby has worked fine for me for the last few months. But starting about at New Year's, I'm getting ditto results as these posts with my free Emby beta. "The spinning wheel's, got to go 'round" :wacko: I'll just keep checking back for resolutions. Thanx.

 

Hi.  Can we please look at an example?

 

Thanks.

 

How to Report a Problem







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Emby Roku, Stuck, Sticks

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users