Jump to content


Photo

Cannot play media with subtitles

subtitles

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 drengelsk OFFLINE  

drengelsk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 14 October 2019 - 01:09 PM

Hello

 

I finally got my Emby Server up running on Windows Server 2012, but I have a problem with streaming movies and series with subtitles. I stream my content via Chromecast (3rd genereation), but movies and series will only play, if I turn the subtitles off, otherwise I will just get a black TV screen. The subtitles are already incorporated in the MKV files, and also the media are not transcoded, when the subtitles are off.

 

Best Regards



#2 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 14 October 2019 - 01:16 PM

What kind of subtitles are in your mkv files?  But you will most likely need to post a server log and ffmpeg log if present when trying to play a item with subtitles.



#3 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 140182 posts
  • Local time: 11:47 AM

Posted 14 October 2019 - 01:22 PM

Hi there, let's look at an example. Please attach the information requested in how to report a media playback issue. thanks !



#4 drengelsk OFFLINE  

drengelsk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 14 October 2019 - 02:34 PM

The subtitles codec is called SUBRIP, otherwise I don't which format it is... The log file is attached.

Attached Files



#5 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 14 October 2019 - 02:53 PM

@Luke @softworkz

 

Is the syntax correct?

 

 

C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\system\ffmpeg.exe -f matroska -i file:"F:\Udenlandske Film\Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv" -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -c:v:0 libx264 -force_key_frames "expr:gte(t,n_forced*5)" -copyts -filter_complex "[0:0]scale=trunc(min(max(iw\,ih*dar)\,1920)/2)*2:trunc(ow/dar/2)*2,subtitles='F\:/Udenlandske Film/Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv:si=0':force_style='FontName=Droid Sans Fallback':fontsdir='C\:/Users/DrEngelsk/Desktop/Emby Server/programdata/fonts'" -avoid_negative_ts disabled -start_at_zero -pix_fmt yuv420p  -maxrate 10076743 -bufsize 20153486 -preset veryfast -profile:v:0 high -level:v:0 4.1 -crf 20 -x264opts:0 subme=0:me_range=4:rc_lookahead=10:me=dia:no_chroma_me:8x8dct=0:partitions=none -vsync -1 -map_metadata -1 -map_chapters -1 -threads 1 -codec:a:0 ac3 -metadata:s:a:0 language=eng -disposition:a:0 default -ac:a:0 6 -ab:a:0 384000 -ar:a:0 48000  -y "C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\programdata\transcoding-temp\a8d7351d29092d62830538ad08e5b5e5.mkv"



#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 140182 posts
  • Local time: 11:47 AM

Posted 14 October 2019 - 05:19 PM

Yes, curious. What kind of drive is your F: drive?



#7 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 14 October 2019 - 11:53 PM

@Luke @softworkz

 

Is the syntax correct?

 

Inside a filter string, there are special escaping requirements. 

I don't know these rules  from the top of my head, but I still spotted something.

 

Could you post the complete ffmpeg log?


Edited by softworkz, 14 October 2019 - 11:53 PM.


#8 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 14 October 2019 - 11:56 PM

Inside a filter string, there are special escaping requirements. 
I don't know these rules  from the top of my head, but I still spotted something.
 
Could you post the complete ffmpeg log?


That was from the log in post 4.


Edited by Happy2Play, 14 October 2019 - 11:56 PM.


#9 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 12:15 AM

Thanks happy!

 

I would think that the :si=0  part needs to be outside of the single-quoted filename.

 

But I just looked at the code and it hasn't changed for 1.5 years..

 

@Luke - any ideas ?


Edited by softworkz, 15 October 2019 - 12:15 AM.


#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 140182 posts
  • Local time: 11:47 AM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 01:48 AM

I think the code is OK. I'd like to know what the F: drive is.



#11 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:02 AM

I don't see how subtitles='F\:/ and fontsdir='C\:/ can be correct.  



#12 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:06 AM

I don't see how subtitles='F\:/ and fontsdir='C\:/ can be correct.  

 

 

Inside a filter string, there are special escaping requirements. 

 

Read the ffmpeg docs..



#13 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:29 AM

I guess I don't know were to look as that Window path looks wrong but looking a other OS logs it would appear correct.
 

subtitles='F\:/Udenlandske Film/Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv:si=0':force_style='FontName=Droid Sans Fallback':fontsdir='C\:/Users/DrEngelsk/Desktop/Emby Server/programdata/fonts'
subtitles='/media/nas/1080p/incoming/movie/movie.mkv:si=0':force_style='FontName=Droid Sans Fallback':fontsdir='/var/lib/emby/fonts'


#14 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:41 AM

@softworkz

 

should it not be something like this with backslashes?

 

https://superuser.co...lute-path-error


Edited by Happy2Play, 15 October 2019 - 02:41 AM.


#15 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:41 AM

 

I guess I don't know were to look as that Window path looks wrong but looking a other OS logs it would appear correct.
 

 

Do I really need to say it a third time? And provide evidence?

 

Here you go: http://ffmpeg.org/ff...rgraph-escaping



#16 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 02:51 AM

@softworkz
 
should it not be something like this with backslashes?
 
https://superuser.co...lute-path-error

 
Open a command line on Windows and type the following:
c:/windows/win.ini
It is not commonly known but Windows accepts forward slashes as well as path separator .
Using forward slashes instead of backslashes avoids the excessive escaping that would be required otherwise.
 
That's the one side.
 
 
The other side is, that a colon ( : ) is a special character inside an ffmpeg filter spec string.
 
That's why it needs to be escaped with a backslash.

Edited by softworkz, 15 October 2019 - 02:52 AM.


#17 drengelsk OFFLINE  

drengelsk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 03:04 AM

Emby is installer on the C drive and the F drive is just an external drive.

#18 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 15 October 2019 - 03:04 AM

Thanks, there is not way I got any of that out of that documentation.


Edited by Happy2Play, 15 October 2019 - 03:11 AM.


#19 softworkz OFFLINE  

softworkz

    Advanced Member

  • Developers
  • 1863 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 15 October 2019 - 03:08 AM

Emby is installer on the C drive and the F drive is just an external drive.


Could you please try to run this command manually from the command line?
 

C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\system\ffmpeg.exe -f matroska -i file:"F:\Udenlandske Film\Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv" -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -c:v:0 libx264 -force_key_frames "expr:gte(t,n_forced*5)" -copyts -filter_complex "[0:0]scale=trunc(min(max(iw\,ih*dar)\,1920)/2)*2:trunc(ow/dar/2)*2,subtitles='F\:/Udenlandske Film/Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv:si=0':force_style='FontName=Droid Sans Fallback':fontsdir='C\:/Users/DrEngelsk/Desktop/Emby Server/programdata/fonts'" -avoid_negative_ts disabled -start_at_zero -pix_fmt yuv420p  -maxrate 10076743 -bufsize 20153486 -preset veryfast -profile:v:0 high -level:v:0 4.1 -crf 20 -x264opts:0 subme=0:me_range=4:rc_lookahead=10:me=dia:no_chroma_me:8x8dct=0:partitions=none -vsync -1 -map_metadata -1 -map_chapters -1 -threads 1 -codec:a:0 ac3 -metadata:s:a:0 language=eng -disposition:a:0 default -ac:a:0 6 -ab:a:0 384000 -ar:a:0 48000  -y "C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\programdata\transcoding-temp\a8d7351d29092d62830538ad08e5b5e5.mkv"

(will probably fail)

 

And afterwards this:

C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\system\ffmpeg.exe -f matroska -i file:"F:\Udenlandske Film\Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv" -map 0:0 -map 0:1 -c:v:0 libx264 -force_key_frames "expr:gte(t,n_forced*5)" -copyts -filter_complex "[0:0]scale=trunc(min(max(iw\,ih*dar)\,1920)/2)*2:trunc(ow/dar/2)*2,subtitles='F\:/Udenlandske Film/Deadpool.1080p-Danishbits.mkv':si=0:force_style='FontName=Droid Sans Fallback':fontsdir='C\:/Users/DrEngelsk/Desktop/Emby Server/programdata/fonts'" -avoid_negative_ts disabled -start_at_zero -pix_fmt yuv420p  -maxrate 10076743 -bufsize 20153486 -preset veryfast -profile:v:0 high -level:v:0 4.1 -crf 20 -x264opts:0 subme=0:me_range=4:rc_lookahead=10:me=dia:no_chroma_me:8x8dct=0:partitions=none -vsync -1 -map_metadata -1 -map_chapters -1 -threads 1 -codec:a:0 ac3 -metadata:s:a:0 language=eng -disposition:a:0 default -ac:a:0 6 -ab:a:0 384000 -ar:a:0 48000  -y "C:\Users\DrEngelsk\Desktop\Emby Server\programdata\transcoding-temp\a8d7351d29092d62830538ad08e5b5e5.mkv"


#20 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 16198 posts
  • Local time: 08:47 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 15 October 2019 - 03:18 AM

Are there certain conditions for the existence of the /programdata/fonts folder?  None of my systems have this fonts folder.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: subtitles

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users