Jump to content


Photo
Fixed

[BUG] Spinning circle won't go away after clicking FF/RW



Best Answer FrostByte , 30 June 2019 - 08:57 PM

USB version .62 fixes the problem, thanks

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 29 May 2019 - 12:06 PM

App v1.0.61

Server 4.2.0.5

TV Samsung 2018 Q8FN

 

Problem:  After clicking FF or RW the movie will skip and the spinning circle starts.  Then once the movie starts playing again the spinning circle starts up again and won't go away.

 

Steps:

 

Start movie

Press FF/RW on remote

Spinning circle starts and then stops

Movie restarts and circle restarts and won't go away

 

 

I'm thinking this is a bug because it only takes clicking FF/RW once.  At first I thought maybe it was after clicking FF severl times, but it only takes once.   The spinning circle starts, then stops, and then the circle starts again once movie starts playing again.  I can reproduce this every time

 

https://pastebin.com/nYWTamvs


Edited by FrostByte, 31 May 2019 - 03:09 PM.

  • dmas88 and maegibbons like this

#2 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 29 May 2019 - 12:16 PM

Just to add more this wasn't an issue with version 1.0.29.  Just started yesterday after upgrading.



#3 pauljamesbusby OFFLINE  

pauljamesbusby

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Local time: 09:05 PM

Posted 29 May 2019 - 12:16 PM

Can confirm I also see this on my QE55Q6FN (2018)
  • FrostByte likes this

#4 holdestmade OFFLINE  

holdestmade

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • Local time: 08:05 PM

Posted 29 May 2019 - 12:54 PM

Same here on 2018 Q7F. Hope this is quick to solve as unusable really unless you just watch from beginning. Can also confirm it was not there in 1.0.29

Edited by holdestmade, 29 May 2019 - 12:55 PM.

  • FrostByte likes this

#5 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146627 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM

Posted 29 May 2019 - 01:16 PM

@SamES

#6 maegibbons ONLINE  

maegibbons

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 2345 posts
  • Local time: 08:05 PM
  • LocationLutterworth, England, UK

Posted 29 May 2019 - 02:00 PM

Hi

 

Its a "me too" post here on an NU8000.

 

Definatelly triggered by FF and then whatever you do spinning circle comes back.

 

There may be other instances when spinner comes on but have not tested that thouroughly yet as this circle issue on FF is a showstopper and Ive gone back to my shield.

 

Krs

 

Mark


Edited by maegibbons, 29 May 2019 - 02:01 PM.

  • FrostByte likes this

#7 edennis OFFLINE  

edennis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:05 PM

Posted 30 May 2019 - 03:24 PM

This problem just showed up recently, and with both the TVs we use, same on each one of them. Use the advance or back button and this buffer circle shows up and stays the rest of the episode unless I back out and resume.

Attached Files


Edited by edennis, 30 May 2019 - 05:33 PM.

  • FrostByte likes this

#8 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 146627 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM

Posted 30 May 2019 - 03:51 PM

Hi, what TVs?



#9 edennis OFFLINE  

edennis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:05 PM

Posted 30 May 2019 - 05:32 PM

Both are late model Samsung large flat panel TVs, One QLED the other a series 6.  Thank you, Ed



#10 Andori OFFLINE  

Andori

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Local time: 08:05 PM

Posted 31 May 2019 - 12:57 PM

Also does it on a 2018 Q9FN.


  • FrostByte likes this

#11 edennis OFFLINE  

edennis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:05 PM

Posted 31 May 2019 - 01:55 PM

Since the question was first asked I have done a complete clean re-install of Ebmy server and deleted both clients on the TVs and re-installed the Emby apps, the results have not changed.



#12 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 31 May 2019 - 03:18 PM

This problem just showed up recently, and with both the TVs we use, same on each one of them. Use the advance or back button and this buffer circle shows up and stays the rest of the episode unless I back out and resume.

attachicon.gifbug-101.jpg

 

Merged topics as they are the same



#13 SamES OFFLINE  

SamES

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 1114 posts
  • Local time: 07:05 AM

Posted 31 May 2019 - 09:51 PM

There appears to be occasions where the 'buffering complete' event isn't triggered to hide the spinner.  

 

Aside from the spinner staying visible, if you can confirm that rew/ff works correctly (ie: it jumps back/forward and resumes playback) then I've got a fix for this.



#14 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 31 May 2019 - 10:22 PM

There appears to be occasions where the 'buffering complete' event isn't triggered to hide the spinner.  

 

Aside from the spinner staying visible, if you can confirm that rew/ff works correctly (ie: it jumps back/forward and resumes playback) then I've got a fix for this.

 

Yes, the FF/RW buttons work as designed even when the spinner is going and stuck.  The spinner actually stops for a short second or two once playback restarts, but then the spinner starts again and never stops.


Edited by FrostByte, 31 May 2019 - 10:24 PM.


#15 SamES OFFLINE  

SamES

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 1114 posts
  • Local time: 07:05 AM

Posted 31 May 2019 - 11:14 PM

Yes, the FF/RW buttons work as designed even when the spinner is going and stuck. The spinner actually stops for a short second or two once playback restarts, but then the spinner starts again and never stops.


That’s interesting if it looks like it stops and restarts. I can’t fully reproduce this, but I do see occasions where buffering stops at 99% and the complete event never triggers. I was going to stop the spinner at 95%, but if it’s being retriggered then that might not solve it. Thanks

#16 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 01 June 2019 - 06:37 AM

I don't think this happens occasionally either.  I've never seen where it didn't happen and I've played around with it many times



#17 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 01 June 2019 - 06:41 AM

If you ever get the secure side-load thing working I'm sure there are a few of us who would be happy to test a theory.  I know the emulator doesn't always show the same results.  Just as long as you don'e brick my TV I'm okay with testing :)



#18 edennis OFFLINE  

edennis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:05 PM

Posted 02 June 2019 - 11:55 AM

I found that after I have played some of the media file I can back out of it, and then "resume" the play and the circle is gone, that is, until I do another FF and then it is back and stays unless I back out yet again. That was the same here on the FF, the circle goes away shortly, makes th ejump and the circle comes back and stays.

 

So I am curious is this a problem in the server software or the client software? We are using a couple of new Samsung TVs here.

 

Ed



#19 FrostByte OFFLINE  

FrostByte

    Advanced Member

  • ForumMod
  • 4548 posts
  • Local time: 03:05 PM
  • LocationThe UP

Posted 02 June 2019 - 11:58 AM

I found that after I have played some of the media file I can back out of it, and then "resume" the play and the circle is gone, that is, until I do another FF and then it is back and stays unless I back out yet again. That was the same here on the FF, the circle goes away shortly, makes th ejump and the circle comes back and stays.

 

So I am curious is this a problem in the server software or the client software? We are using a couple of new Samsung TVs here.

 

Ed

 

 

SamES has an idea what it is and is making headway.  It is an app problem, not server.

 

BTW, could you give us the model numbers of your TVs?  This is looking like it only effects people running Tizen 4.0 (2018) and maybe newer



#20 edennis OFFLINE  

edennis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 12:05 PM

Posted 02 June 2019 - 01:50 PM

Both are running Tizen, and 2018/19 models. Will look at the model numbers later today.  Ed


  • FrostByte likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Fixed

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users