Help with Server Syncing

Danza

Good Day,

Noob here with his first post asking for help on how best to sync/update my media over WIFI. Here is some background info to best illustrate how I setup things so that it all makes sense.

I came across Emby and kodi while trying to find out the best way to watch my favourite shows on Android TV using a Mi Box 3. I messed about with things and I ended up with what I reckon was a half decent setup. For the initial setup, I plugged in my external to the laptop, had all my content sorted and used Emby to pull all the info and media for the files. Whenever I add a new file, as long as the external is connected to the laptop and I run Emby server everything is updated and synced and all the necessary media is downloaded. I was aware that the mi box is limited to be used as a server but I also wanted to share the media with anyone in the house.

So I plugged the drive into my router and created samba share. On pc i could now see my media over WIFI and copy content over but main issue now is when a new file is added to the drive, no syncing of media happens. I understand this to be because the path that was used to sync the files initially is different from the path pointing to the files now over WiFi.

How do I get around this? I just want my media to be updated in Emby irrespective of how I add that media. I am also willing to consider other alternatives/setups.

The current drill has been connect drive to pc, add one file, run Emby server to update media, disconnect and plug drive back into the router, run kodi on android tv and have that scan for any new changes. Then use kodi to watch. 

PS - Emby is set to save the nfo files in the actual folder of the media so everything is centralized

- Kodi is set to just read or update from the saved nfo files present in the drive and not download new ones as I was concerned the limited storage on the mi box will be used up with downloaded fan art etc.