6 replies to this topic

#1 PhillyIdol OFFLINE  

PhillyIdol

• Members
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 08:39 AM

Posted 21 March 2019 - 06:06 PM

Okay,

So I'm not 'new' to Linux (I've used Ubuntu), but I am new to using Linux as a media server, and I am new to Mint.  Having said that, even tho it all seems pretty familiar/straight forward, I am running into issues with adding files to the server.

Just to be clear, I just installed Mint (as in today) on a server (so latest Cinnamon 19 ver), and then installed Emby (so again, latest ver).  Reason is my old media box is dying (was just a old Windows box that I had with only 20-30 movies), and I'm transferring the files over to my new box, and wanted to have a sleeker media server, so went with Mint+Emby.

Mint installed fine, Emby installed fine, added drive location easily enuf (/home/embysvr/movies), transferred some movies over to test with a USB... but nothing shows up in the dashboard (??).  Ran scan library thru dashboard, but no go.

I'm guessing there's either a break in my install, or it's a perms issue with files from a Win box to a Linux box.  I ran the ls -l cmd against the share and the transferred files show as having these perms: drwx------- 2 embysvr embysvr 4096 Mar 21 13:17 '<movie filename>'

I'm thinking it may be important to note, that I tried a DL of a movie from the server directly to that folder - and it scanned/worked - until I changed the name of the file/folder to match my other ones (I use 'movie title (year)' format - the initial DL that worked had a long name.year.1080p.x.264 name)...  AND with the DL'd one, the perms showed as this: drwxrwxr-x 2 embysvr embysvr 4096 Mar 21 14:34 '<movie filename>'

I have been looking thru the web/forums for permissions, as well as changing folder/file names causing issues (which I really don't understand why this would be an issue), so I'm still trying things, but thought I'd post here JIC there was a guru who had a quick 'you forgot to do this' answer.