EmbyCon on Nvidia Shield External Player broken!?

Birdy110

Birdy110

Hi guys! If I access my emby server from Kodi via UPnP I can long click on any movie and choose to play it with

my chosen player. (Normally MXPlayer or default Kodi). But when I use embycon I get the menu, but it dose not

work! It actually dose what is set in playercorefactory.xml as default.

For example mine has this rule:

<rule internetstream="true" player="MXPlayer" />

and embycon will play all videos with MXPlayer. If I choose long click and select default kodi player it will still go

for MXPlayer! Now if I remove the rule from playercorefactory.xml then it will open the file with default player but

if I try to open it with MX or VLC it again open it with the default kodi!

Can anyone look into this and see if there is a workaround ?

sualfred

@

Yes, the long click of "ok" or "select" usually opens the context menu for listitems on the Shield. 

sualfred

It seems so. I have no experience with external players and I wasn't aware that Kodi offers an option about which player should be used. The last time I used it was on Kodi 12 for BluRay discs and PowerDVD.

Howto:

https://kodi.wiki/view/External_players

Edited by sualfred

Birdy110

Hi guys. Sorry for late reply, just got back home.

Ok easy! I have attached a ready playercorefactory.xml with this message. So all you need to do is to save this and copy it to your

Kodi userdata folder. Then install mxplayer free and vlc from google store.

Now you can use any external player by simply long clicking on a video (this is how I get the context menu showing on nvidia shield) .

For it to work you need to disable embycon's context menu in the addon's services menu.

Now when the context menu opens you get the option: "Play Using"

5c892b19e8e9a_emby1.jpg

Choose it and you will get the choices I have set in the xml file:

5c892ba9f2450_emby2.jpg