Jump to content


Photo

4k Transcoding issue


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 01 March 2019 - 12:12 AM

Hey everyone,

I have been having issues trying to transcode 4k videos. The video will play for a few seconds then freeze for a few seconds and continues that cycle. I have checked the forums and troubleshooting steps and still have no idea whats wrong.

The logs appear to show its not hardware related.

frame= 6317 fps= 53 q=-0.0 size=N/A time=00:04:23.73 bitrate=N/A speed= 2.2x


I have attached the debug transcoding log.

My system is a qnap TVS-882 with an i5-7500 @ 3.4ghz with 20gb ram.

My CPU and ram never goes above 50% while trying to transcode.

The Emby server is up to date.

Any thoughts are much appreciated.

Edited by coryrichter94, 01 March 2019 - 12:40 AM.


#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 01 March 2019 - 12:30 AM

Hi, what exactly is the problem? Are you unable to play?



#3 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 01 March 2019 - 12:38 AM

Hi, what exactly is the problem? Are you unable to play?

Sorry forgot to post that part.
The issue is every few seconds it will freeze for a few seconds then resume playing and do it again. I have tried it on my laptop, tv, and phone with the same issue.

#4 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 02 March 2019 - 10:49 PM

Can we look at an example? Please attach the information requested in how to report a media playback issue. thanks !



#5 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 05 March 2019 - 12:10 AM

Can we look at an example? Please attach the information requested in how to report a media playback issue. thanks !

 

Sure! I have attached the logs.

Attached Files



#6 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 05 March 2019 - 04:47 PM

Strange, this log looks OK. As a test, if you turn off hardware transcoding, does that make any difference? thanks.



#7 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 05 March 2019 - 11:58 PM

Strange, this log looks OK. As a test, if you turn off hardware transcoding, does that make any difference? thanks.

I did test turning hardware encoding off but it did not help :( I also thought it could have been my WiFi so I hardwired in my laptop and still had the issue. It is trying to transcode 4k at 120mbps.



#8 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 07 March 2019 - 02:13 PM

Can you try lowering the in-app quality setting so that it transcodes to 1080p?



#9 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 10 March 2019 - 04:34 PM

Can you try lowering the in-app quality setting so that it transcodes to 1080p?

When I lower the quality it does not freeze anymore but I want to be able to watch 4k videos.



#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 10 March 2019 - 07:31 PM

What device are you watching on?



#11 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 11 March 2019 - 11:41 PM

What device are you watching on?

I have tried it on my windows laptop, Galaxy s10, Sony Smart TV, and my friends Macbook pro. I wanted to ensure it was not a device or OS specific issue. :P



#12 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 18 March 2019 - 01:05 AM

When I lower the quality it does not freeze anymore but I want to be able to watch 4k videos.

 

I understand but it looks to me like the data just can't get there quickly enough.



#13 coryrichter94 OFFLINE  

coryrichter94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 18 March 2019 - 09:43 AM

I understand but it looks to me like the data just can't get there quickly enough.

I just finished running cat 5e across my network and did some more diagnostics. I believe it's hitting the max speed of my hard drive. Thanks for your help!

#14 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 124094 posts
  • Local time: 01:14 AM

Posted 19 March 2019 - 12:21 PM

Thanks for the feedback.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users