1) Metadata & VPN and 2) Emby and DLNA

Galvaneal

Galvaneal

Hi,

Hello, i am hoping someone can help me with 2 challenges i can't seem to solve. First off i must admit i am by no means an expert so it is very likely i am asking a noob question :) I have tried to google it but have not found a good answer yet

My setup is:

• Synology NAS 1817+
  • Emby server on NAS
  • OpenVPN from ExpressVPN on the NAS
  • LG C7 TV
  • Oppo UDP 203 as mediaplayer
  • Ipad mini with Emby client to browse and play movies through DLNA to Oppo

The problems i face are the following 

1. Emby can't collect Metadata for library when VPN is on, or i can't look up existing metadata when VPN is on either

I read that ExpressVPN was one of preferred solutions for Emby, but i cant seem to let it work together. If i turn VPN off it all works fine, but it doesnt when i turn it on (for accessing and updating metadata)

Is there a solution for this? I have portforwared 8096 for the NAS

2. Using Emby client on Ipad and sending it to Oppo mediaplayer through DLNA takes a very long time

When the Oppo connects to NAS (SMB) directly it loads UHD blurays files (MKV) in ca 10 secs, fully working

If i browse through movies on Emby client (on my Ipad mini) and select to play through the Oppo (DLNA option) it takes over 2 minutes to load. 

I have turned off transcoding but this doesnt help 

Again i am a noob but i cant find or google a solution. 

Regards

Galvaneal

1. Emby can't collect Metadata for library when VPN is on, or i can't look up existing metadata when VPN is on either

I read that ExpressVPN was one of preferred solutions for Emby, but i cant seem to let it work together. If i turn VPN off it all works fine, but it doesnt when i turn it on (for accessing and updating metadata)

Is there a solution for this? I have portforwared 8096 for the NAS

Hi, this sounds like the VPN is preventing access to the metadata provider websites, right? Have you checked on that?

Galvaneal