Synology cant access outside the network

Pain
Go to solution Solved by Pain,

I have Emby up and running but not clear how to access it outside the network. Never had Synology before, so I am totally new to this. Thanks for any help.. I get error unable to connect. I do have a VPN setup in Synology.

Edited by Pain

Happy2Play

If I disable my VPN all is good. How do I open ports on the VPN?

Depends on whether your vpn service allows portforwarding.  What service do you use?

Depends on whether your vpn service allows portforwarding.  What service do you use?

I am using torguard. I have forward a port but still can not get it figured out..

I have tried and read and reread and still can not get this sorted out. I have the port forwarded from TorGuard and the IP is the same as the IP WAN in Emby. I can connect thru the Torgard IP on a local lan. But anything out of the network can not connect. I think it has something to do with the .ovpn file I have to create at TorGuard website. There a couple options I am not clear about. One thing, if I turn off the VPN everything works great, that tells me no firewalls blocking and I have my router port set right. Please help, I am so close...

I got this sorted finally. Torguard walked me thru it. I guess on the Synology you cant use a socks5 IP.. So I used iplocation.net to find a IP from the list of servers from TorGuard and then pinged a IP til I found one I liked. Now Im having lag issues, buffering. I have tried a few IPs and its not making a difference. Only on Live TV do I get buffering or lag spikes..

solabc16

Hello @@Pain

Thanks for the update. For the media that isn't buffering, what format is it in - is it being transcoded? What bit-rate?

Best

- James

All the movies I have are in mkv and work fine. Some clients need transcoding and some dont I think. The live TV I am using m3u IPTV and having buffering issues. I just rebooted the Synology and so far no buffering. But its been only 10min lol...