Network Credentials Missing

georgewill76

georgewill76

Hi

Now that I have upgraded my Emby Server to 4.0.0.2 I thought I should refresh my Kodi device.  After reading posts here I have installed the Emby for Kodi beta app.  I am currently using version 3.1.44a.  This is my first time setting up the app after all the new changes introduced.  When I was using the stable version there was a section for me to add my network credentials as I always had problems with initial scan as it said it couldnt find location, so I would add my network credentials.  With version 3.1.44a I cant find anywhere to add my network credentials.  On the github page under settings it says there should be a section in Playback Network credentials: This will take you through the process of setting up your Samba(SMB) access credentials for your network. Samba is the protocol used by Windows file sharing but I don't have that option.

Please can you help.

Angelblue05

Wiki will be updated by next week.

Use Kodi's internal logic, go via add-ons > install from zip > navigate to your content via smb.

I removed this because it caused more issues than it fixed.

georgewill76

Without network credentials when I click to update library it says it cant find location to smb:\\myserver\movies.  I have setup (Optional) Shared network folder on all my folders but still cant scan any of my libraries.

Angelblue05

@@georgewill76

You can still accomplish what the add-on used to provide in the past.

In your Kodi userdata > create a passwords.xml file.

Then you'll want to add this to the file, filled with your emby optional network path, restart Kodi to load the changes, then try to play your content

<path>
    <from pathversion="1">smb://optional/network/path</from>
    <to pathversion="1">smb://user:pass@optional/network/path</to>
</path>
Edited by Angelblue05

georgewill76

Hi Angelblue05