API Projects and Ideas

rene.teniere

rene.teniere

Hi all,

I am a developer and would like to start using the API. I was wondering what other people are doing with it, ideas they have, and generally, how they incorporate it into their workflows?

Thanks,

René

rene.teniere

Can you give me some examples? I really am only used to using Emby for delivering media, and I am not creative until I get an idea ;)

rene.teniere

That’s good. Tired of the same old development for work. Would like to expand to something other than GIS.

I have written a few plugins. One is in the catalog. The Vera plugin.

I have been contemplating a new plugin idea. A really easy one.

I thought about using the message endpoints (which is a Google material style modal popup) to show specific media ratings information in emby clients.

Reasons why a movie is rated R/PG etc.

Netflix does this and I thought it was kinda neat, and helped me better understand what made a movie my kids are watching a PG movie.

For instance, in Canada, Mission Impossible is rated G. Yikes, my seven year old probably can't handle that movie.

Anyway, I have some empty emby plugin projects pieced together if that helps?

rene.teniere

Sure. Getting ready to install the API. Hopefully I will have time to work on things. Difficult with young kids, but looking forward to a new challenge. I just have to explore the API docs and see what looks good. Contact me any time with ideas and whatever... we can PM as well if you like

rene.teniere