3D movie not setting TV

kmed27

Hi,

I am new to Emby and only installed it yesterday.

When I try to play a 3D movie, it plays but I have to manually switch the TV into 3D mode.

Looking at the metadata, all the movies have been correctly identified as either tsbs or ttab, they say 3D in the information in Emby player but they do not switch the TV.

I have been trying Plex for a few days but finding that it is taking too much processing power on my NAS whereas Emby hardly uses any cpu and just works.

Plex however does auto switch the TV mode to 3D on all the movies, the ones that didn't, I just added the appropriate "t-sbs" or "t-tab" to the file name and that seemed to sort it.

Is there anything I need to do differently in Emby to get it to switch when 3D movies are played?

My TV is Samsung:
Model: EU65HU8500
Firmware: 1530
Emby Client: 1.0.39

Thanks

FrostByte

Do you have an evolution kit?  Reason is that is a Orsay TV model and your topic says Tizen and the version number you say you're running is also Tizen.  

https://developer.samsung.com/tv/develop/specifications/tv-model-groups

https://www.samsung.com/uk/tvs/uhd-hu8500/UE65HU8500TXXU/

Edited by FrostByte

FrostByte

Yes, that EK made your 2014 Orsay TV a 2015 Tizen or J-series set as far as the app is concerned.  Thanks, hopefully Luke can come up with something

Edited by FrostByte
  • Like 1

So in this case, once you install the EK to become a Tizen model, is 3D still supported?  Normally 3D switching is automatically detected by the TV so I suspect it is not.

Yes, we watch a lot of 3D movies, I got the kit mid 2016 to get hdmi 2.2.

3D is always automatic from the blue ray player. My old dlna player was hit and miss whether it auto switched or not.