Fire TV Stick 4K (2018)

Jdiesel

Jdiesel

Has anyone been able to try out the new FireTV Stick 4K with Emby? Looks like it might be a decent budget option but I have no experience with FireTV products as they were previously unavailable in Canada.

pir8radio

Yea I just moved from MiBox's to all fire stick 4k's due to a mibox oreo update issue that makes them unstable.    Other than the fire tv home screen that is full of crap you can't remove, once in emby it works just as well as any good android tv box.    I suggest using it.  Plus the new remote has built in IR and can control your other devices (TV, Soundbar or AV).   I've been finding myself using the factory firetv remote....  which i used to hate. 

Hi @@pir8radio,

have you had an older FireTV before that one and are able to compare performance?

I have a couple of FTVS Gen.2 and are quite pleased with the performance but some things could still be faster.

Other thing I am wondering about is if this FTVS is able to change to the actual refresh rate of the file?

Unfortunately the old one is not able. :-(

Thanks!

pir8radio

Hi @@pir8radio,

have you had an older FireTV before that one and are able to compare performance?

I have a couple of FTVS Gen.2 and are quite pleased with the performance but some things could still be faster.

Other thing I am wondering about is if this FTVS is able to change to the actual refresh rate of the file?

Unfortunately the old one is not able. :-(

Thanks!

I see two options for refresh rate on the playing video but i don't use it 59.98 & 60hz.. lol so i have no idea if its what you are asking about..  If you are talking about refresh rate switching, yea it works. Again I don't use it.