Why some files are not scanning... Solved!

Cinemaphile

Cinemaphile

So I am new to Emby and was trying it out as an alternative to Plex. I have been using Plex for a couple years. I say this to point out the issue I was having with some files not scanning was not related to the files themselves as my Plex server was able to find the files. It appeared to be the folder/file structure that caused the scanning to skip some of the movies.

This issue seems to be centered around .nfo files created when scanning new library additions.

Example, I have folders separated alphabetically ("Movie">"A-B-C">"A"). Then within that folder, I may have a subfolder for a movie "bundled" with other files related to that movie. (moviename.mp4, moviename.eng.srt, moviename.eng.forced.srt, moviename -trailers.mp4, etc)

In the screenshot below, you can see a folder for the Matrix Collection. Within that there are subfolders for the three movies (each containing the movie and the subtitle files or trailers etc) AND one movie was not in a subfolder (Animatrix).

As you can see in the Emby Search window, the three main films did not scan into the library. I can only assume that Emby saw the Animatrix file as the main movie int eh Matrix Collection folder, scanned and created the nfo file, and then figured the three subfolders were not other movies but some other folders related to the Animatrix movie file. As you can see in the search, I did a search for "Matrix", expected to see four films with word Matrix in the title, and only one film with generated nfo file showed in the results.