Record series - some are grey, some are red

Grohnheit
Go to solution Solved by Luke,

Grohnheit

Hi.

I am new to Emby, so just a short intro.

The last couple of years I have used MediaPortal as DVR and VLC to play files from SMB shares.

I decided that I could do smarter, so I started by trying plex (with plex pass), but after some disappointment with the live tv part of plex, I installed Emby (with premiere), and I have got most stuff to work just fine, live tv is way better than plex.

I have used these forums a lot to setup stuff, so thanks for sharing all the great information.

Today I wanted to record a tv show, and I saw that it was possible to record the whole series, so I did that.

But Emby decided that it would only record some of the episodes. I tried another show, and it seems to work.

So I went back to this show, and played around with the settings, and cancelled the series and tried again and again, but with the same outcome.

I checked my xmltv.xml file, to compare an episode that Emby would record (red icon), with a episode that Emby would not record (grey icon), and they are completely equal beside the episode number, title, and desc.

to show you this, I cancelled the series, and restarted the server to get a clean log.

This is what I did after the restart.

1. go to "guide.

2. find an episode of the show.

3. pressed "record series".

4. go to series menu, and click on the show, grap a screen dump to show to you.

5. go to manage server and open the log, copy all the info into notepad.

This is the screen dump:

5adcd9013a93a_Screenshot_72.png

As you can see Emby only decided to record 2 of the 4 episodes shown in this screen dump.

Why is this happening? Emby clearly knows about "the greyed out" episodes, but decides not to record them.

I have attached the server log.

Best Regards

Michael

Emby-Log.txt

Edited by Grohnheit