Setup and guide issues

JEM_Family

JEM_Family

Hi all - I am brand new to internet streaming TV as I finally got sick of DirecTV and came across a internet based m3u provider which I have been using on my Smart TVs with the Smart TV app. However, I came across this Emby app and started to do a little research and end up downloading it for the recording capabilities that it offers. I have now set up my account and entered by m3u url in the tuner section on the Emby Server which I downloaded on my Mac computer, but when I downloaded the XML TV guide it does not show any program data in the guide.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to help me understand what I have to do to finish setting up my system so that I could see all the program information on my guide. Also, I wanted to know what else I needed to do in order to start recording shows. It seems like I need to purchase an external hard drive and sign up for the Premiere membership in order to share the recording capabilities to the rest of my devices....Is this correct?

Hi there, welcome. Can you try refreshing the guide in the emby server dashboard? If the issue remains after that, please attach the emby server log. you can learn how to do that here:

https://emby.media/community/index.php?/topic/739-how-to-report-a-problem/

As far as hard drive, you can configure the recordings to go anywhere you like, so yes that could be on an external drive, or internal drive if there's enough space, or even a network share. And yes you will need Emby Premiere for the DVR feature. Thanks !

JEM_Family

Hi Luke,

I am in the process of refreshing the guide. It is a little over 90% complete so I will let you know when it is done.

Thanks for the quick response.

JEM_Family

Alright so the guide finished refreshing, but still no program data in the guide...I clicked on the link that you sent to figure out how to send you the log.