FR: MBC - Amazon Instant Video

Crestj

Now that Amazon Instant Video is available to the US and UK users here (possibly more?) I wonder how feasible it is to incorporate this into MBC much like the trailer plugin that streams videos.

There is a very good MC plugin (not MBC) from these guys: http://sharepointsnapple.com/amazonmceaddin/

I'm not a programmer as such but I imagine the concept to stream from the web to MC isn't too far removed from streaming a trailer from the web to MBC. (HUGE assumption there!!!!)

Would anyone else find this useful?

Koleckai Silvestri

Not probable in reality. Amazon uses Microsoft's Silverlight as their transport method to specifically prevent being embedded in other products.

Would be nice to be able to integrate the content into a library but DRM still drives video syndication.

Edited by Wayne Luke

Yeah, unless they provide us a public API to consume it will be difficult.  I haven't checked lately but most of these big guys don't want other interfaces presenting their content as then they can no longer control it.

I believe it is possible to get at the Prime Instant video content listings via their APIs but I'm not sure they will let us actually stream them.  If they do, though, then yeah, this would be a dynamite addition.

Latchmor

@@Crestj Hi I've been a Prime member for ages so tried the WMC plugin last night but kept getting errors. Do you have it working?

I got in touch with the Dev and he sent me a different version which I have just tried but it won't load.

My LG TV has an app so I'm ok just now!

Cheers

No it just keeps saying my login is incorrect, which it isn't!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Latchmor

Mmm, the 1st version I used from his site let me login and browse ok but wouldn't play anything. Kept getting Service Error 5003.

I've just emailed him to say that his latest version he sent is not working so I'll keep you posted if you want.

Cheers

• Like 1

Latchmor