Jump to content


Photo

Emby XML Metadata plugin has stopped working

XML

  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#41 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 16 September 2017 - 03:44 AM

@Luke

 

Should the plugin be able to parser Taglines in this format?

  <Taglines>
    <Tagline><Tagline>
  </Taglines>


#42 AdrianW OFFLINE  

AdrianW

    Advanced Member

  • Super Testers
  • 2492 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 PM
  • LocationPerth, Australia

Posted 16 September 2017 - 06:49 AM

I pushed an update that will hopefully resolve it. thanks.

 

Looking good here. Thanks. :)



#43 AdrianW OFFLINE  

AdrianW

    Advanced Member

  • Super Testers
  • 2492 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 PM
  • LocationPerth, Australia

Posted 16 September 2017 - 06:53 AM

 

@Luke

 

Should the plugin be able to parser Taglines in this format?

  <Taglines>
    <Tagline><Tagline>
  </Taglines>

 

I'm sure it used to. ET (may have been the original ET) would display taglines at the bottom of the screen.

 

My movie xml files are also in that format, but the Emby Metadata manager is not showing anything - and only seems to have a field for a single tagline.



#44 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 153204 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 AM

Posted 16 September 2017 - 10:32 AM

It appears to support them

#45 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 16 September 2017 - 01:22 PM

Trying to interpret the code I found my xml tagline issues with the format MCM provides and what the parser looks for.

 

The parser wants the capital "L" in the parent node.

case "TagLines":	
        <TagLines>
		<Tagline></Tagline>
	</TagLines>

@AdrianW

 

What is the exact format of your tagline? 

 

 

Just looking for a standard to see if it needs fixed here or at 3rd party provider.

 

 

 

 

If I understand this correctly it only looks in the "TagLines" node subtree.

/// Fetches from taglines node.

So Tagline nodes don't work either.

<Tagline></Tagline>

Edited by Happy2Play, 16 September 2017 - 02:10 PM.


#46 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 16 September 2017 - 03:31 PM

Doing some research MCM changed to these tags in 2015 to comply with Emby. 

 

https://github.com/p...ter/issues/1716

 

Looking at metabrowser, don't know it they made the change as it was reported here.

 

http://themetabrowse...s/2/topics/9483

 

 

@Luke

 

Who should make the change to this node?

 

Back then Emby created node with lowercase "l"

  <Taglines>
    <Tagline><Tagline>
  </Taglines>


#47 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 153204 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 AM

Posted 16 September 2017 - 03:33 PM

Don't know. Just tell me which one you want.

#48 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 16 September 2017 - 03:45 PM

Don't know. Just tell me which one you want.

 

I'll wait for @AdrianW's response it appears he uses MetaBrowser.



#49 AdrianW OFFLINE  

AdrianW

    Advanced Member

  • Super Testers
  • 2492 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 PM
  • LocationPerth, Australia

Posted 17 September 2017 - 03:41 AM

So, it looks like metabrowser populates a single TagLine and multiple Taglines:

  <TagLine>Nice planet. We'll take it!</TagLine>
  <Taglines>
    <Tagline>Nice planet. We'll take it!</Tagline>
    <Tagline>YIKES!  They've Landed!</Tagline>
  </Taglines>


#50 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 17 September 2017 - 05:23 AM

 

So, it looks like metabrowser populates a single TagLine and multiple Taglines:

  <TagLine>Nice planet. We'll take it!</TagLine>
  <Taglines>
    <Tagline>Nice planet. We'll take it!</Tagline>
    <Tagline>YIKES!  They've Landed!</Tagline>
  </Taglines>

 

I think the plugin is only reading the "Taglines" subtree.  Just a case sensitive issue right now.

 

@Luke

 

Could we get the plugin updated to lowercase "l" in parser, please.

 

If I understand what I was looking at the single line tagline is not read, correct?


Edited by Happy2Play, 17 September 2017 - 05:24 AM.


#51 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 153204 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 AM

Posted 17 September 2017 - 09:48 PM

This hasn't changed for a long time though, that's the only thing.



#52 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 17 September 2017 - 11:03 PM

This hasn't changed for a long time though, that's the only thing.

 
Right but the MCM and metabrowser are using the same node/subtree format and different single node formats and neither get read by Emby.  The key note here, I never noticed it do to "Download artwork and metadata from the internet" enabled.  But with it disabled Emby removes the Taglines.
 
Emby does not read single node in either format, from what I was able to interpret from the code.
 
The easiest compromise is changing TagLines to Taglines.  Or should we request the providers change these taglines again as shown in links above?
 
As a side note from @AdrianW's example Emby only displays the last tagline if there are multiple tagline.


Emby use to create "Taglines" according to the example on metabrowser, so when would it have changed to "TagLines"?
 
  <Taglines>
    <Tagline>Ka-ciao!</Tagline>
  </Taglines>
 
.

Edited by Happy2Play, 17 September 2017 - 11:13 PM.


#53 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 153204 posts
  • Local time: 05:48 AM

Posted 17 September 2017 - 11:14 PM

Ok whatever you guys think.

 

And yes, the Emby database only holds a single tagline, so if the file has multiple you'll only end up with one anyway.



#54 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 17 September 2017 - 11:15 PM

This change would resolve all issues that have been reported.



#55 pju OFFLINE  

pju

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Local time: 11:48 AM

Posted 18 September 2017 - 01:46 AM

Just a comment - if you are not aware. MetaBrowser is no longer maintained. Author Fatal in practice left the building years ago. So no chance to get anything changed.
Looking forward to get the issue solved

Sent from my Galaxy with Tapatalk

#56 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 18 September 2017 - 02:53 AM

Just a comment - if you are not aware. MetaBrowser is no longer maintained. Author Fatal in practice left the building years ago. So no chance to get anything changed.
Looking forward to get the issue solved

Sent from my Galaxy with Tapatalk

 

Are you seeing any other issues?



#57 pju OFFLINE  

pju

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Local time: 11:48 AM

Posted 18 September 2017 - 04:33 AM

Sorry I wasn't more precise.

I downgraded to 3.2.24.0 when the problem occured.

And I have just followed this topic till the issue seemed to be solved.

To test it - I will have to install the latest beta of Emby Server ?

Can't see the mentioned version of the plugin when running 3.2.30.0.

Suppose it should be common knowledge, but ... :unsure:



#58 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 18439 posts
  • Local time: 02:48 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:03 AM

Sorry I wasn't more precise.

I downgraded to 3.2.24.0 when the problem occured.

And I have just followed this topic till the issue seemed to be solved.

To test it - I will have to install the latest beta of Emby Server ?

Can't see the mentioned version of the plugin when running 3.2.30.0.

Suppose it should be common knowledge, but ... :unsure:

 

Version numbers are specific to server version do to compatibility issues in the updates in beta or dotnet builds.

 

Yes you would have to install latest beta in order to see functionality.



#59 pju OFFLINE  

pju

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Local time: 11:48 AM

Posted 18 September 2017 - 05:37 AM

Thanks for info. Makes very much sense. Will give a try when getting home.

Sent from my Galaxy with Tapatalk

#60 pju OFFLINE  

pju

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Local time: 11:48 AM

Posted 18 September 2017 - 12:14 PM

Works for me after upgrade - thank you, guys!

My plugins and scheduled tasks also works.

Setup: Win7/WMC/Metabrowser







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: XML

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users