Jump to content


Photo

DVB and Teletext SUBTITLES (UK)

DVB Subtitles Teletext Live TV DVR

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 09 August 2017 - 01:38 PM

If it helps any, I have HDHomeRun subtitles working in the Emby web client (transcoding) and Android app (Direct Streaming), but not in the ATV app on my Shield.

No subtitles in any app with my IPTV source.

 

 

 

.


Edited by CBers, 09 August 2017 - 01:47 PM.

  • Spaceboy likes this

#22 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 01:43 PM

If it helps any, I have HDHomeRun subtitles working in the Emby web client (transcoding) and Android app (Direct Streaming), but not in the ATV app on my Shield.

My subtitles in any app with my IPTV source.

exactly the same with subtitles from a dvb-s source. @ebr seemed to have identified the problem in the thread i linked to, we are just awaiting a fix


  • CBers likes this

#23 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 09 August 2017 - 01:57 PM

exactly the same with subtitles from a dvb-s source. @ebr seemed to have identified the problem in the thread i linked to, we are just awaiting a fix

 

https://emby.media/c...udio-pass-thru/



#24 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 02:01 PM

https://emby.media/c...udio-pass-thru/

i updated and tried it but still the same. External services will all be in .ts format, so I guess you have a fix but I don't

#25 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 02:02 PM

https://emby.media/c...udio-pass-thru/

actually that must be for something different as live tv isn't usually going to be direct played is it?

#26 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 09 August 2017 - 02:03 PM

Are we talking at cross purposes then ??



#27 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 02:43 PM

Are we talking at cross purposes then ??

i don't know? isnt all live tv played back trans/i currently so that we can pause and then catch up? and .ts recorded tv is now always played trans/i for better transport controls. although this change is causing the issues with active recordings, another thing outstanding...



#28 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 09 August 2017 - 03:15 PM

i don't know? isnt all live tv played back trans/i currently so that we can pause and then catch up? and .ts recorded tv is now always played trans/i for better transport controls. although this change is causing the issues with active recordings, another thing outstanding...


My Live TV is Direct Stream, unless I turn on the pause/rewind functionality manually.

#29 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 03:17 PM

Well, mine would be too but I choose to have pause rewind automatically. I don't think we are talking about different things, just the solution doesn't seem to fix the situation for server played PGS subs

#30 maegibbons OFFLINE  

maegibbons

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 2891 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationLutterworth, England, UK

Posted 09 August 2017 - 04:41 PM

My head hurts :wub:



#31 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 05:26 PM

My Live TV is Direct Stream, unless I turn on the pause/rewind functionality manually.

so... are you saying this is working for you? No-one has said anything either way in response to the update

#32 mini__me OFFLINE  

mini__me

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 336 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 05:38 PM

Is anyone else using a HDHomeRun in the UK with FireTV 1 as a client and is unable to play HD channels?

I've reported on various threads but this one seems pretty active so hopefully should get a yes or no :)

On topic, I cannot view subtitles with FireTV 1 as a client when viewing DVBT with HDHomeRun as source.

#33 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 09 August 2017 - 05:48 PM

so... are you saying this is working for you? No-one has said anything either way in response to the update


I haven't updated as yet. Will do it tomorrow.

#34 Spaceboy OFFLINE  

Spaceboy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 4775 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 09 August 2017 - 06:04 PM

I haven't updated as yet. Will do it tomorrow.

I am pretty sure that update is for something else. PGS subs are to do with blu-ray I believe

#35 maegibbons OFFLINE  

maegibbons

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 2891 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationLutterworth, England, UK

Posted 10 August 2017 - 03:50 PM

Is anyone else using a HDHomeRun in the UK with FireTV 1 as a client and is unable to play HD channels?

I've reported on various threads but this one seems pretty active so hopefully should get a yes or no :)

On topic, I cannot view subtitles with FireTV 1 as a client when viewing DVBT with HDHomeRun as source.

 

Yes - Bit hit and miss.

 

103 - ITVhd   plays reasonable

 

Generally HD channels from HDHomerun are stuttery for me and not a good experience.  Not really tracked it down.

 

If I want better than SD I choose to use an HD IPTV channel that comes straight in as H264 and is smooth playback.

 

Krs

 

Mark



#36 CBers OFFLINE  

CBers

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 15928 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationEngland

Posted 10 August 2017 - 05:14 PM

Latest HDHomeRun firmware is here:

https://forum.silico...p?f=119&t=20613

It might be worth updating.

#37 mini__me OFFLINE  

mini__me

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 336 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 10 August 2017 - 05:33 PM

Yeah, got the firmware update message directly on the HDHR interface today and they upgraded themselves without having to download an install package. Will give it another go with the latest firmware.

It almost feels like it's struggling for bandwidth, but using the kodi add on the channels stream perfectly.

Also if I start to record and playback the recording in progress the picture is perfect. Though I have enabled the option to transcode the recordings to MKV rather than TS.

#38 mini__me OFFLINE  

mini__me

    Advanced Member

  • Alpha Testers
  • 336 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM

Posted 19 August 2017 - 03:09 AM

To try and see if the problem is bandwidth or Emby I installed NextPvr......HD channels play perfectly now on all devices. I think I'll just leave it as it, as nice as the direct integration is if it's unusable it doesn't fly. Now I have a usable solution.

#39 maegibbons OFFLINE  

maegibbons

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 2891 posts
  • Local time: 06:47 PM
  • LocationLutterworth, England, UK

Posted 19 August 2017 - 06:24 PM

Just as a slight aside. If you record transcode to mkv with keep original audio and video selected then you loose the DVBSUBS stream in the destination mkv.

Krs

Mark

#40 afullmark OFFLINE  

afullmark

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 91 posts
  • Local time: 05:47 PM

Posted 25 August 2017 - 06:02 AM

You can try out PGS subs in the latest beta version of the app (on Google platforms) 1.4.37.

 

 

@ebr I have been impressed with the support from Emby on these forums – I can post logs and samples and screenshot to the plex forum and hear nothing from anyone at plex, or nothing gets fixed: https://forums.plex....n-software-does or here https://forums.plex....bsubs-mkv-mpeg2 – so I think I going to pay respect and buy lifetime premiere.

 

I want to move to Emby and all Im really looking for is:

  1. Direct play of vobsub and pgs; which now Emby can do.
  2. Be able to record the DVB subtitle stream for UK TV broadcasts 
  3. Be able to play back TV Recordings and have DVB subtitles show if they are selected (and Direct Played if possible)
  4. Be able to view DVB subtitles why watching live TV

Admittedly, I have no actually tested the above, but I am now certain that if I did have issues that Emby would do their best to help and resolve the issue.

 

For example, I have one recording that plex simply cannot playback and if it transcodes rather that direct stream then all sorts of issues happen: 

 

A uk stream contains sources of varying framerate and sounds, and if plex has to transcode that recording it causes all sorted of trouble: for example, prior to a movie starting the previous show will be in one frame rate with 2.0 sound, but when the movie starts plex keeps sound at 2.0 and the wrong framerate. 

Watching in kodi, the audio output will switch from 2.0 to 5.1 happily and with correct framerate.

 

 

Yes, I could very well just use plexkodiconnect for everything but I would rather use the plex app, so I'm going to see what emby is like on the shield and go from there. 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DVB Subtitles, Teletext, Live TV, DVR

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users