New to Roku : video quality and bitrates?

jscoys

jscoys

Hi, I'm new in Roku world and just installed a brand new Roku for a collegue.

I said "hey man do you want to use my Emby server? You've got 10 Mbps connexion and I've got the same in upload at home...".

So we tried roku emby app and there... i'm a little bit disappointed... When set to 3.2 Mbps it's always buffering... What's the hell???

I have to put to 1-1.5 Mbps to have a constant playback. So in a first time is it Bits or Bytes we deal with in Settings?

Is the Roku app uses the new playback feature? (For instance I can play from my friend's home directly on my IPhone with a 4Mbps bitrates... Same connection).

Please help, what's going on with this app?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pir8radio

is it a wifi Roku or plugged into Ethernet?  Hows the signal strength?    The majority of my users are Roku users, and I've only had complaints about buffering when the clients had actual network issues.

jscoys

Wifi, Roku stick, Roku is less than one feet from the router and is connected in 5ghz... Internet server side is 10 Mbps up and my friend has a 10 Mbps down. All internet connexion's been tested with speedtest to be sure... What are your users bitrates définitions in their settings?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mjktg99

Setting the bit rate so low can also be forcing the server to transcode. And if it's not a powerful enough server, that could also be causing the buffering. Try setting to the highest and see what happens.

• Like 1

jscoys

No I pressed the middle bitton each time and that's the same case with or without transco...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What type of files are these?

The roku has a limited set of core codecs it supports. This means you may be creating the situation and the roku is trying its best.