Jump to content


Photo

Direct play XviD and transcode DivX. Possible?

dlna transcode xvid divx direct play

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 11 February 2016 - 05:04 PM

Evening all,

 

I'm basically looking for an answer to the title - Direct play XviD and transcode DivX. Possible?

 

It seems I'm only allowed to specify "mpeg4" in the DLNA profiles so my server has to unnecessarily transcode Xvid videos.

 

If this isn't possible, could I request that this be something to consider in a future release?

 

I'm running version 3.0.5821.0 on Windows.

 

Thanks very much!



#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 137604 posts
  • Local time: 07:19 AM

Posted 11 February 2016 - 05:29 PM

in the beta server there is now the CodecTag field which will have that info, although it will require refreshing the videos.



#3 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 14 February 2016 - 02:56 PM

That's awesome I think I'll give that a go! :-)

#4 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 17 February 2016 - 04:41 PM

Evening folks,

 

So I'm running the latest beta server (Version 3.0.5880.0). I've refreshed my videos and can see Codec tag in the media info.

 

How do I tell Emby that I want to direct play XviD and transcode DivX?

 

Many thanks!



#5 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 17 February 2016 - 09:02 PM

Don't have any in my library so what does the Media Info show for your media in those codecs?



#6 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 18 February 2016 - 04:52 AM

I have a few versions of DivX codec. I'll list a few and XviD is at the bottom...

 

Media Info
Video
CodecMPEG4
Codec tagDIVX
ProfileSimple Profile
Level1
Resolution720x576
Aspect ratio5:4
AnamorphicNo
InterlacedNo
Framerate29.97
Bitrate773 kbps
Pixel formatyuv420p
Ref frames1
Audio
CodecMP3
Layoutstereo
Channels2 ch
Bitrate187 kbps
Sample rate44100 khz
DefaultNo
Containeravi

 

Media Info
Video
CodecMPEG4
Codec tagDX50
Level-99
Resolution720x400
Aspect ratio16:9
AnamorphicNo
InterlacedNo
Framerate29.97003
Bitrate756 kbps
Pixel formatyuv420p
Ref frames1
Audio
CodecMP3
Layoutstereo
Channels2 ch
Bitrate125 kbps
Sample rate44100 khz
DefaultNo
Containeravi

 

Media Info
Video
CodecMSMPEG4
Codec tagDIV3
Level-99
Resolution608x336
AnamorphicNo
InterlacedNo
Framerate23.976
Bitrate854 kbps
Pixel formatyuv420p
Ref frames1
Audio
CodecMP3
Layoutstereo
Channels2 ch
Bitrate123 kbps
Sample rate48000 khz
DefaultNo
Containeravi
Media Info
Video
CodecMPEG4
Codec tagXVID
ProfileAdvanced Simple Profile
Level5
Resolution640x480
Aspect ratio4:3
AnamorphicNo
InterlacedNo
Framerate29.97003
Bitrate864 kbps
Pixel formatyuv420p
Ref frames1
Audio
CodecMP3
Layoutstereo
Channels2 ch
Bitrate125 kbps
Sample rate48000 khz
DefaultNo
Containeravi

 

Many thanks!



#7 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 18 February 2016 - 05:47 AM

What device/profile will this be for? 

 

The only way I can think of  doing this would be creating a container conditions or codec conditions.

 

Not sure the conditions can be together like this or if they need separated.

<ContainerProfiles>
    <ContainerProfile type="Video" container="avi">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="Equals" property="VideoLevel" value="1" isRequired="true" />
        <ProfileCondition condition="Equals" property="VideoLevel" value="-99" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </ContainerProfile>
  </ContainerProfiles>

or

<ContainerProfiles>
    <ContainerProfile type="Video" container="avi">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="Equals" property="VideoLevel" value="1" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </ContainerProfile>
    <ContainerProfile type="Video" container="avi">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="Equals" property="VideoLevel" value="-99" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </ContainerProfile>
  </ContainerProfiles>

Maybe codec profile

<CodecProfiles>
    <CodecProfile type="Video" codec="mpeg4">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="NotEquals" property="VideoProfile" value="Advanced Simple Profile" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </CodecProfile>
<CodecProfiles>
    <CodecProfile type="Video" codec="mpeg4">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="NotEquals" property="VideoLevel" value="5" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
</CodecProfile>

Any of these should theoretically transcode your divx and still allow direct play of xvid.  But still dependent on what will be playing them.

 

@Luke, are profiles going to use "codec tags"?  If so do you have an example since none of the current profiles do.


Edited by Happy2Play, 18 February 2016 - 06:05 AM.


#8 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 18 February 2016 - 06:01 AM

I'm using a slightly tweaked version of the Sony Bravia 2014 profile.

 

My 2014 Bravia will quite happily play XviD encoded videos, yet wont play DivX, so distinguishing between these codecs would help cut down on needlessly transcoding XviD videos.

 

I've tried setting the profile to direct play "xvid" but it seems to only accept "mpeg4", which to my understanding is more of a standard than a codec.

 

Many thanks.



#9 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 18 February 2016 - 06:10 AM

It will be trial and error but I believe the bottom one is probably the best option, it will transcode all mpeg4 files that aren't level 5.



#10 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 18 February 2016 - 07:37 AM

I'm just looking through my library and I'm seeing a few XviD's that are level 3 too.

 

If someone was to implement this new code, I'd be more than happy to test!

 

Many thanks.



#11 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 18 February 2016 - 05:06 PM

Are all your xvid file "Advanced Simple Profile" for profile?  If not then container conditions will have to be the testing route. 

 

Are you wanting me to post a full profile with these changes?  You know you can add this code directly to the appropriate sections of the xml file.  I would make a backup of your custom profile first.

 

%appdata%\Emby-Server\config\dlna\user



#12 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 19 February 2016 - 03:27 PM

Most are advanced simple profile. There's a few simple profile level 3s.

I didn't know I was able to edit the profile like that. Will give it a go tomorrow and let you know how I get on.

#13 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 19 February 2016 - 03:46 PM

It isn't that hard, just open your modified Sony (2014) profile in the %appdata%\Emby-Server\config\dlna\user folder and just insert the conditions you want to add into the proper section.  Each example I gave shows there sections, so all you need to insert is the <conditions>.



#14 Flymy OFFLINE  

Flymy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Local time: 01:19 PM

Posted 19 February 2016 - 04:48 PM

Maybe you just have to activate in your TV divx!? You can find this for normal in the settings



#15 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 22 February 2016 - 05:30 PM

Not having much luck with this. I'll have a look through the DLNA logging.

 

Flymy, no divx support whatsoever. Here's the codec list for my Bravia http://pdf.crse.com/....html#section03



#16 Redshirt OFFLINE  

Redshirt

    Android Adept

  • Alpha Testers
  • 5078 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationBritish Columbia, Canada

Posted 22 February 2016 - 05:40 PM

When constructing your device profile, you can specify VideoCodecTag in your codec profiles. 

 

<CodecProfile type="Video" codec="mpeg4">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="NotEquals" property="VideoCodecTag" value="DIV3" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </CodecProfile>


  • lol likes this

#17 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 22 February 2016 - 05:49 PM

Redshirt, that works perfect! Thank you sir  :D


Edited by lol, 22 February 2016 - 05:54 PM.


#18 Redshirt OFFLINE  

Redshirt

    Android Adept

  • Alpha Testers
  • 5078 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationBritish Columbia, Canada

Posted 22 February 2016 - 05:56 PM

That error looks more like a structural error in the XML... 

The 'CodecProfiles' start tag on line 79 position 4 does not match the end tag of 'Profile'. Line 108, position 3.

That says to me that the xml was missing a closing tag, or had too many. Or they were missmatched ie: <CodecProfile></Profile>

 

Nevermind. You snuck in while I was tying to say it's fixed.


Edited by Redshirt, 22 February 2016 - 06:02 PM.


#19 lol OFFLINE  

lol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  • Local time: 12:19 PM

Posted 22 February 2016 - 06:01 PM

That error looks more like a structural error in the XML... 

The 'CodecProfiles' start tag on line 79 position 4 does not match the end tag of 'Profile'. Line 108, position 3.

That says to me that the xml was missing a closing tag, or had too many. Or they were missmatched ie: <CodecProfile></Profile>

 

Yep, it was missing a closing tag. My fault for being lazy with the copy and pasting!



#20 Happy2Play OFFLINE  

Happy2Play

    Trial and Error

  • Moderators
  • 15620 posts
  • Local time: 04:19 AM
  • LocationWashington State

Posted 22 February 2016 - 06:28 PM

So codectags can be used.

Would this be better by container and not codec since this should only affect avi files instead of all mpeg4.

 

<ContainerProfile type="Video" container="avi">
      <Conditions>
        <ProfileCondition condition="NotEquals" property="VideoLevel" value="xvid" isRequired="true" />
      </Conditions>
    </ContainerProfile>

 

Should transcode all avi files that are not xvid.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: dlna, transcode, xvid, divx, direct play

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users