Emby for Kodi - No Access to Music

Blue Kachina
Go to solution Solved by BlueKachina,

Blue Kachina

Hey all;

I've been using Emby since it was Media Browser 2, so I'm pretty familiar with it.

That being said, it's my first time attempting to get it to work using Kodi as a front-end for it.

I'm attempting to do so on a relatively new platform too -- the nVidia Shield Android TV.

Initial setup seemed relatively painless:

1. Copy the .zip to a USB thumbdrive
  2. Install Emby Add-on from .zip
  3. Install Emby Add-on from Repository (picked Music Add-on/Video Add-on, and a couple other options as well)
  4. Kodi auto-detected my server, and I selected the user that I wanted to use for this profile
  5. Scanning of my library began

At first, Kodi had detected all of my songs, but none of them would show up under the Music heading.

I knew that it had detected them all because when I clicked into Settings, it would give me a count of them in the header.

After some playing around however, most of them show up.

Some of them aren't listed properly... some are listed as "Singles" ... but that's a different issue, and appears to be one that the community is aware of.

My main problem is that none of the files actually play any music.

They all work correctly from Emby, and even from Kodi when I install it on my phone, and attempt to go through the same process, however, when I try from the Android TV device, I get an error message saying that it couldn't locate the next file to play.

At this point in time, I'm not sure if music is supported by the add-on, but I wanted to report this issue, and find out if anyone else is having troubles with this also.

FYI:

I've tried adjusting a number of the settings - such as ones to stream instead of directly accessing the files through the network.

After adjusting these types of settings, I've done full database resets from the add-on, manually synching etc... all to no avail.