Looking to convert my Blu-rays and DVDs to digital for the first time

curlyp

Hello Community,

I feel like I am behind times as I am new to the digital/streaming world for Blu-Rays and DVDs!  I just purchased a QNAP TS-451 earlier this week for stoage/backup and soon to be streaming movies/music.  I have a ton of Blu-rays and DVDs that I would like to convert to digital format, but I am not sure where to begin.

While searching online I came across a post in the following thread:

I think it depends what you're after - MakeMKV is great if you don't mind the large file sizes (as no re-encoding takes place). - AdrianW

But for encoding stuff, I prefer MeGUI - quite a learning curve, but I think it gives much better results than handbrake as you have much greater control over how your video and audio is encoded.

I just use a combination of MakeMKV and Handbrake. They are complimentary not competing products. Both are currently free and haven't had problems with quality. - Koleckai Silvestri

Handbrake allows me to adjust resolution and bit rate after the fact. For instance, I had some episodes at 1080p and don't really need them above 720p. Can save up to 90% in space that way.

With most videos, I just let the server transcode. - Koleckai Silvestri

Based off the little research I did, it seems like a good amount of users prefer MakeMKV and Handbrake.  In the quote above, @@AdrianW states no re-encoding takes place.  What does he mean by this?  With every Blu-ray/DVD I rip, do I need to makes adjustments in Handbrake?  Lastly, is there a reason why I would need to adjust the resolution (i.e., playing on Main TV vs Tablet or phone)?

I appreciate any and all suggestions/guidance on this!  If anyone has a guide to converting my physical movies to digital I would really be interested in reading it.

Thanks in advance!

CP

• Like 1

Deathsquirrel