New User Needs Help

hitthespot

hitthespot

I am new to emby and Kodi. Just installed both and am having trouble, I have a roku 3 and have windows 10 that was upgraded from windows 8.1. 

My problem is when viewing content on Kodi I can't get it to show on the TV. emby shows my Roku as an active device and in the recent activity log it shows my media viewing activity from Kodi so it seems that the Roku, emby and Kodi  are all connected. How do I get my movie to show up onto the TV?

I'm probably overlooking something simple but Iv'e spent hours trying to figure this out. I'd sure appreciate some help.

Thanks, Rich

farside847

If your goal is to watch content on your Roku, then you do not need Kodi. You need:

- a server (probably your windows machine) running the Emby Server program

- a roku with the emby app installed

Set up your emby server to scan your content on your windows machine, set your roku app to find your server and you should be able to play your content. No Kodi.

hitthespot

If your goal is to watch content on your Roku, then you do not need Kodi. You need:

- a server (probably your windows machine) running the Emby Server program

- a roku with the emby app installed

Set up your emby server to scan your content on your windows machine, set your roku app to find your server and you should be able to play your content. No Kodi.

Thanks for your reply. My goal is to stream movies/ sporting events through Kodi that I can't get through a Roku channel. I am able to watch the desired programming on my desktop through Kodi but would like to "send" it to my TV. 

Happy2Play

I don't know if Kodi can cast to the Roku.  But from the web client you can.

Select the device icon top right

56185bae6ebd6_remotedevice.jpg

Device list select Roku

56185b7d5d935_devicelist.jpg

Once selected anything you play in web client will be sent to the Roku.

hitthespot

I don't know if Kodi can cast to the Roku.  But from the web client you can.