Sever Won't Install Windows 10 Pro

airic499

airic499

Hello all,

Newbie here although a lot of experience with Plex and XBMC/Kodi.  I thought I would give emby a try, but when I went to install it on a Windows 10 Pro box, well essentially nothing happened.  I see a quick window that says launching application with a newtwork icon that vanishes.  I see no running programs, apps or processes that are tagged emby or anything that looks like a media server.

Figuring maybe I just needed to hit the webpage to start things I tried that, but all I see is "unable to connect".  Tried both IE and Firefox so assume it isn't a browser issue just nothing installed.

I have tried running the install as admin and under Windows 7 compatibility with no joy.  Any suggestions here? 

Thanks in advance!

Longrifle

I just installed on Windows 10 with no issues....

go to emby.media and download the windows version again and give it another try.

airic499

Thanks, I've tried re-downloading a couple of times already though.  Should I try the beta instead of stable maybe?  I see several folks here with Win 10 questions, so I assume it can't be a fundamental incompatibility.  Wish I could provide more details, but it doesn't get far enough into the install to say what is happening.  The launching application screen is literally a fraction of a second. 

I'll try again and see what happens with the beta.

Ok the beta got one screen further then crapped out.  Got to a "allow this app to make changes..."  Said yes then the window just closed.

One thing I think I noticed, it looks like it is trying do download some components maybe and that is getting squashed?  Usually I would expect a "blocked process..." or some sort of message.  Not seeing anything like that though, window just closes.

Edited by airic499

airic499