Jump to content

When rebuilding, does everything get downloaded again?


Go to solution Solved by ebr,

Recommended Posts

topbanana

So i did a clean format/reinstall of my laptop. so put Emby on with a fresh install... but then copied over everything from the backed-up \Emby-Server\data folders, including all the images, etc...  But i deleted the library.db & refreshinfo.db so the library would rebuild...

 

Does the server use the images that are already downloaded, or does it just download everything a fresh and overwrite whatever's already there?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Solution

It depends on several factors.

 

If you store your metadata and images with your media, then it should not have to re-download at all (one of the reasons we recommend that option).

 

Then, if all of the references to the media are exactly the same from the new box, then it shouldn't have to re-build any of the cache or data either.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
topbanana

OK, gotcha

 

I subtly changed the path of a couple of the media folders... so they'll be downloading again.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...