VPN help with firewall needed

riverboat2001
Go to solution Solved by riverboat2001,

riverboat2001

Starlink and it's CGnat !

I have a subscription to Pure vpn, and have a dedicated ip address, and have opened ports 8096 and 8920

I have a couple of problems, and I've spent all day trying to get it to work.

1/ Purevpn doesn't automatically connect to my dedicated ip. It picks a random UK based ip, and obviously this tries to create a new Firewall  entry, and Emby reports that as the ip address for external connections. So i have to stop Emby, go into Purevpn settings and connect to my dedicated ip address. The restart Emby, which then has a matching ip address to Purevpn.

2/ If public firewall is enabled canyouseeme.org on port 8096 fails

If public firewall is DISabled canyouseeme.org Succeeds, then all my remote devices can connect.

The PC is Win10 whose sole job is Emby server and media storage.

riverboat2001
24 minutes ago, GrimReaper said:

Hi there. Is there a question somewhere between all the statements? 

Haha, sorry, been at this for 8 hours.

1. Can I delay the start of Emby by 60 seconds or so?

2. If I have the firewall on my router do i have to enable the public firewall. bearing this pc isn't used to surf the web, receive emails etc

as this maybe the only way to solve the problem

PureVPn are currently working on the automatically connecting to the dedicated ip issue.

Starlink is becoming the go-to for areas with no internet but it comes with a cgnat. 

GrimReaper
1 hour ago, riverboat2001 said:

The PC is Win10 whose sole job is Emby server and media storage

13 minutes ago, riverboat2001 said:

1. Can I delay the start of Emby by 60 seconds or so?

Not within Emby but number of programs available for the same purpose.

13 minutes ago, riverboat2001 said:

2. If I have the firewall on my router do i have to enable the public firewall. bearing this pc isn't used to surf the web, receive emails etc