Hardware decoding not working on TS-464

markand

I've been running Emby on my QNAP TVS-872XT for the past 3 years and it's been great. Unfortunately it died and I just replaced it with a TS-464, which got great reviews. I have it with 16GB of Memory taken from the old unit. 

After migrating the drives over and re-installing Emby I began doing some tests. Playing a single video in my browser causes server CPU to be about 97%. Hardware acceleration is on. Note the Emby process is using 88% CPU

.image.png.cc320de3507e45211ddfd5ebd608d54a.png

I also have Plex set up to point to the same libraries and playing the same video yields CPU utilization of 12%. Note Plex is using 0.14% even while playing back.

image.png.67a9a3da4c47416db24401f3e78a45c2.png

Any idea what's wrong? Emby used to use barely any CPU on the old config.

image.png

image.png

GrimReaper

Not familiar with QNAPs, but could you post hardware detection log and ffmpeg log for that high-CPU playback, as I suspect subtitles?

One update of good news. For some reason, I thought to try playing back the video using my iPhone. Then the CPU usage is even less that Plex! I also played from my Android TV and the CPU usage was also low.  So it seems like playing in Safari doesn't use hardware acceleration but on the devices it works. I'm not sure how it worked with the old NAS as I never use the browser, but did for this test. Note: Emby server CPU isn't visible but is around 0.13%.

image.png.0307f29d1768659e6fede16091f50450.png

GrimReaper
5 minutes ago, markand said:

So it seems like playing in Safari doesn't use hardware acceleration but on the devices it works.

Without logs noone can tell you exactly is transcoding being hardware accelerated or not, as those items might just have been DirectPlayed in which case it means nothing in respect to your original query.

Edited by GrimReaper
Typo
  • Agree 1

Happy2Play
7 minutes ago, markand said: