Server build for Emby - opinions?

Mediahost

Mediahost

Hey, I'm relatively new to Emby and I'm currently trying to set up a Windows server mainly  dedicated to streaming and transcoding media files. Best scenario would be to have the server running 24/7 but I have no idea if the energy consumption of my build would be too high for that (we pay a lot for electricity in Germany). :'D

CPU: Intel Core i5-11400 (Intel UHD 730)
Mainboard: MSI B560M-A Pro
RAM: Crucial Ballistix weiß DIMM Kit 16GB, DDR4-3200, CL16-18-18-36
Power supply: be quiet! Pure Power 11 500W ATX 2.4
SSD: Western Digital WD Blue SN550 NVMe SSD 500GB

Media is currently stored on a 14 TB HDD, so I'd use a Midi Tower with some space for 3.5" HDDs. Do you think that this system might be efficient for my use case? 4K transcoding with tone mapping could be a thing but I wouldn't base my decision on that since most of my devices can direct play 4K. Parallel streams would be not more than 2. I really can't tell if this system is overkill or not enough for what I have in mind. Maybe you can give me some advice.

• Like 1

Q-Droid

Intel CPUs do a good job of throttling down and have been getting more efficient. My guess is that your server itself would idle in the 50-70w range, possibly lower. It will definitely go up when busy but for short bursts.

Edit to add: Regarding the video workload you have nothing to worry about. This CPU can handle pretty much anything you throw at it and will easily do multiple transcodes of 4k without breaking much of a sweat.

Edited by Q-Droid

KMBanana

Why do you want it to run Windows?  It has a lot of overhead, poor software based RAID (or equivalent), and frequent reboots for updates.