Transcoding DVDs is that normal behaviour?

CalypsoCowboy

CalypsoCowboy

I'm just getting started with MediaBrowser, OpenElec and XBMB3C and had a question.

I've noticed in OpenElec, when I play a .iso or .mkv, the file plays on my OpenElec box (Chromebox), it plays fine and uses very little if any CPU on my server. It is showing the stream as Direct Play.

It seems like when I play a DVD, stored in a VIDEO_TS structures, I've only played with a few, it transcodes the movie on the server and sends it to the OpenElec box. It does show as Transcoding.

From what I understand the OpenElec should be able to play the DVD natively and not transcode it. Is that the case or will MediaBrowser always transcode the DVD or am I missing a setting somewhere.

Part of the reason I ask is my server is currently a lowly Core 2 Duo that only scores 1000 on the Passmark, so transcoding maxes out my server.

Still learning about all this.

-Josh

xnappo

Definitely sounds like something is wrong.

If you are sure you are using UNC paths for the path to the movies (ie \\machine\drive\movies not e:\movies') then please change the log level to '1' in the AddOn advanced settings and post a log.

Log files can be found here:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Log_file/Advanced#Location

xnappo

CalypsoCowboy

Okay, I'm still working on the xbmc log, I don't think I got the correct one, but here are the server and transcoding log off the server from the event.  

I found the xbmc logs, but for some reason the date and times seem off and not sure I have the correct ones. 

-Josh

shortserverlog.txt

transcodinglog.txt

xnappo

Okay, easy.  Just go to:

Settings->Network and change 'Video Quality' to '1000.0 Mbps HD'.

This isn't very well named... It is used both to determine the transcoding rate AND to specify your network's capability.

@@im85288 ....

xnappo

Edited by xnappo

im85288

Okay, easy.  Just go to:

Settings->Network and change 'Video Quality' to '1000.0 Mbps HD'.