Subtitle Upload

romainsi

romainsi

Hello,

I have been using Emby for a few years now and I must say that it works great ! Thanks to all the team.

However, using it every day, I am regularly confronted with a problem of subtitles not being available on the OpenSubtitles or Addic7ed platforms with Emby, often I find them on small French sites (I think the problem must be present for other languages too :)).

I'm using Emby on a remote server and there are several of us accessing it, everything is done through the web browser (reverse nginx). I decided to set up a "web file browser" (github\filebrowser) to be able to manually copy the subtitle to the location of the video, rename it with the: 'name of the video.fr.srt' then in Emby on the desired video use the option "Update metadata" then F5 so that the subtitle is available but it's tedious.

Would it be possible to have a button to upload a subtitle manually from a file available locally on the PC ?

Sincerely,

Romain.

• Like 6

• 1 year later...
MacGyver27

+1

• Separate upload button - definitely accessible on mobile devices
  • Configurable per User/Library (there are libraries where you can never use subtitles)
  • Hen adding subtitles have a button to specify language - so users dont have to add suffix before upload

Thnaks

• Thanks 2

14 hours ago, MacGyver27 said:

Separate upload button - definitely accessible on mobile devices

Just curious - in what situation would there be a subtitle file on your phone that you would be uploading into the system?

• 3 weeks later...
On 9/10/2023 at 8:38 AM, ebr said:

Just curious - in what situation would there be a subtitle file on your phone that you would be uploading into the system?

There can be various reasons for this.

First, the subtitle you're looking for might not be available on the Opensubtitle website. (Only available on Subscene)