Emby on WD My Cloud

bondj303

bondj303

Hello,

I am a newbie and mostly a novice.

I have a 4TB WD My Cloud P/N WDBCTL0040HWT-10 that I updated to OS5 (Firmware 5.18.117). I presume it is Gen 2, but wanted to confirm (since it has been a while since I bought it and I have not tinkered with it much). After updating to OS5, I find that my playlists for media (audio as well as video) are missing and I can't seem to make them again directly on WD as before (with OS3). It now only has the Twonky server and the web interface to the Twonky server has very limited capabilities. So I am now looking at a new media server to stream my media (within my home mostly... have a very fragmented system with smart TVs from different vendors like Sony-Google TV, LG & Samsung, 2 rokus, X-box, firestick, wired Yamaha AV receiver, etc). I am looking at PLEX and Emby and am willing to get the premium version if necessary for whatever suits my purposes.

So I would like to know if there is a way to get Emby on My Cloud (for the version I have.... since currently it just allows me to have only Twonky Server). If yes, I assume I have to install it manually and I guess I download the Emby Package for My Cloud Gen 2 from here (https://github.com/MediaBrowser/Emby.Releases/releases/download/4.6.7.0/emby-server-western_digital_my_cloud_gen2_os5_4.6.7.0_arm.bin) and point to the source of the downloaded file under "Install an app manually" in the web interface/dashboard for My Cloud (OS5).