Looking to switch from WMC/WMP

RAP58

I’m in the process of updating my Windows server to UNRAID - and perhaps switching from My Movies/WMC to Emby.

My first set of questions concerns music… I am a +60 year musician that has worked entirely in the professional recording, media archiving and broadcast industries I have a lot of music and all the screenshots on this site shows a bunch of random album covers; they are not sorted by name, artist, genre or anything that I can detect.

1. Are there screenshots of how Music libraries get organized - or can be organized by a user? (Artist, Genre, Categories, User-defined)  I found very little on the site.

2. I’d also like to understand how Emby creates that organization - hopefully via metadata… or perhaps reading the WMP database which is also used by WMC.

3. I have a large library of surround music generally stored as DTS extensions. (Some AC3)  Will these show in my music library as well? (It was a bit of a trick this to work in WMC/WMP)

Thanks for the feedback…

Edited by RAP58
typo

Hello RAP58,

** This is an auto reply **

Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you.

It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread:

Thank you.

Emby Team

Hi, yes you can sort your music a bunch of different ways as well as filter it.
image.png.7540d5a1dacafb738716a56cb5a8908a.png

I would setup an Emby Server and add a sampling of your music content just to test out how things will work.  That's probably the best thing you can do.  Then ask any questions on configuration to tweak your setup.

Carlo

• Agree 1

Thanks Carlo - I'll address each question:

1) Thanks for the screen shot, but I was hoping to see some layouts - most of those menu items are of limited use when dealing with 800GB's of music.  Do you have an example of Artist/Album layouts?