Visual Studio Code users here

darkside40

darkside40

Is anybody here using Visual Studio Code to write plugins for Emby?

Normally i am working 100% under Linux, but if i want to tweak something regarding my Emby plugins i am forced to use Windows because  of normal Visual Studio.

Could anyone point me in the right direction if possible?

Hi, at Emby we use a higher version, but I know other users here use Visual Studio Code.

roaku

I use VSCode on Linux (Ubuntu) and build with dotnet on the terminal.

I'm no expert, but my recollection was that when VSCode detects C#, it volunteers to install the appropriate syntax and other libraries.

Installing dotnet involved following the directions here:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/core/install/linux

It's possible to have VSCode build for you too, but I got annoyed trying to get that set up and just stuck with building from the terminal.

Edit: I'm not in front of my dev machine to check, but it's possible I'm running VSCodium rather than VSCode, but that doesn't really change anything about the above.

Edited by roaku

roaku
3 minutes ago, darkside40 said:

Sound great so it seems possible.

How do you build your projects on the CLI?

The basic command is:

dotnet build

But it accepts a bunch of optional arguments:

dotnet build --configuration Release

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/core/tools/dotnet-build#examples

• 2 weeks later...

Here's my tasks.json file in my plugin directory. I don't recall any other changes to the editor I made to build beyond installing C# plugin in VSCode and dotnet system-wide.

$ cat .vscode/tasks.json
{
    // See https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=733558
    // for the documentation about the tasks.json format
    "version": "2.0.0",
    "tasks": [
        {
            "label": "build Debug",
            "command": "dotnet",
            "type": "process",
            "args": [
                "build",