Naming Convention: Using IDMB ID

motey

Hi folks,

im new to Mediabrowser and coming from MediaPortal.

This is a great piece of software, thanks to all involed for creating this!

I scanned my movie folders the first time. Now there are some movies that aren't detected right.

Because im coming from MediaPortal my naming convention looks like this: "IMDB-MovieName (YEAR) [iMDB-ID]" (e.g. "Ferris Bueller's Day Off (1986) [tt0091042]")

This worked perfectly for the MediaPortal scrapper, because every movie is exactly identifiable by the imdb-id.

You could just rescan your whole movie collection without any refinishing.

Now i realized that mediabrowser doesnt recognice the imdb-id in the filename (Or did i not find the option to configure that?)

Now my Questions are:

Is there a good reason why mediabrowser is ignoring the imdb-id, or is it just a missing feature?

If its a missing feature, is it planned to realize that?

If its not planned and there are no good resons against that, am i allowed to create an issue on github?

Im using version 3.0.5271.29451

Thanks for helping!

Cheesegeezer

Hi folks,

im new to Mediabrowser and coming from MediaPortal.

This is a great piece of software, thanks to all involed for creating this!

Now my Questions are:

Is there a good reason why mediabrowser is ignoring the imdb-id, or is it just a missing feature?

If its a missing feature, is it planned to realize that?

If its not planned and there are no good resons against that, am i allowed to create an issue on github?

Im using version 3.0.5271.29451

Thanks for helping!

Hey there and welcome to MB :D

There isnt really a reason why it hasnt picked them up. With MB the scraper logic is very good and doesnt require you to put an imdb id in the folder name of the movie.

I'm not familiar with MP, but does MP save your metadata to a folder or does it scrape everytime?