Memory Hog/Leaks

ronvp

log.txt

I have noticed that the memory consumption of EMBY server can get quite large.. Right now on 3.0.5781.3,After about 24hrs of uptime I average around 275 MB. This makes it the single largest memory consumer I have on my home server (Windows 10).

After a restart, memory use is about 87 MB. Then over the coarse of about 24 hours it climbs to 275 and then more use every day. This time frame, signaled that it may have to do with the different tasks.

So I started playing with running task manually and see how this effect memory use. The refresh people task  and Scan Media library task only release part of their memory every time they run causing cumulative memory hogging. For my machine, this keeps going up until it reaches about 325 MB.

Clearly, there is a memory issue associated with certain tasks. Both these tasks use CoverArt so it may be that, but I have not tried to run them without CoverArt.

I also noticed that the first time if I run the web client and browse my movies there is about 80 MB memory added to Emby Server and then not released.

IT may al be just caches filling up, but the memory efficiency of EMBY is not optimal.

I also run the Plex server and by comparison it only uses around 5 mb when running in the back ground and 20 MB when apps or its web client are in use. With exactly the same libraries attached..

Edited by ronvp

Happy2Play

How about a server log?  But my servers run between 500-700MB which has been that way from the beginning.  Plugins play a big factor in memory usage also.

Ian-Highlander

Heh, Emby's memory usage with my library sits between 350MB when idling overnight up to between 650MB and 1GB at times.  :lol:

How about a server log?  But my servers run between 500-700MB which has been that way from the beginning.  Plugins play a big factor in memory usage also.

Log added to the first post.