Emby OS?

smidley

smidley

Has there every been any plans for an Emby OS?  Something similar to Kodibuntu or OpenElec.  I think a lot of people would switch over from XBMC to Emby client if there was just an image you could install on your computer without having to worry about building the underlying OS first.  And I would much rather run Emby as a stand alone OS rather than on top of XBMC, on top of linux.

I think it would be great to plan a lightweight super efficient linux-emby build.  Something that would boot directly into emby, and rely on emby server.  Thoughts?

• Like 3

it's a neat idea. we'd probably have to rely on a community member to get such a project started though

syran

I'll be glad to test and translate, sorry I'm not a coder, but I want to do my part  ;)

• 3 months later...

I am interested in something like this too.  Right now I run Emby from a Docker hosted on my unRAID box.  On the main TV we use the Roku but the Roku app is a little limiting (I suspect this is a Roku issue, all the Roku "channels" seem to have the same general layout).  I wish I had a nice full featured client with a great 10 foot interface I could use on the TV without running another computer.

Something like a dedicated image that just had the Emby front end would be cool. I could throw it on a tiny computer or maybe host that as another Docker on my unRAID and connect the TV directly to it.

I wish I had a nice full featured client with a great 10 foot interface I could use on the TV without running another computer.

Something like this...?

55c6414eebae5_newhome.png

555b418cda8ce_enhancedbrowsemovie.png

5546494931a5c_newplayeratv.png

A Nexus Player or Fire TV would fit your bill I believe...

blubyu3049